Travelogue to New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
April 16th 2015
Published: April 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

When I was in New York on the winter of 2012 I had the greatest trip with my family yet. We had arrived. After more than 4 hours in an airplane we where finally there. We where all so exited we wanted to visit all of New York but we where so tired. It was just my dad, my mom, my sister and me. We had a hard time finding a taxi, everything was so crowded, it was so cold I thought I was going to freeze. We all agreed we where so tired we should go to the hotel and just rest. We where all in bed and ready to sleep, but we just couldn´t sleep, we all felt a rush so strong to get to know the city for the first time we just took our coats and started walking around the hotel in our pijamas. We walked until we reached Rockefeller Center wich was so beautiful I couldn´t belive it, it was all dark with many different color lights and white lights on top of us that looked like stars. I have never been this excited, I knew this moment I would remember forever, a family trip with a great beginning. It was really late and everything was closed, so this time we actually head back to the hotel and rest. We woke up and decided to head to Times Square, it was so crowded and cold. We decided we should have something to remember the moment so we had a drawing of us made, every time I see this drawing remembers me of how happy that moment was. My sister was not feeling so well and she said she could´t walk any longer, so we headed back to the hotel. I was so mad, we where on a beautiful city and we where spending time on a hotel room. My sister began feeling better so we rushed out of the hotel and stopped at F.A.O. Schwarz. It was so big I could not believe it, I was so amazed, all those toys reminded me of my childhood and there where so many toys I would have never guessed existed. We where on the second floor when I saw the most interesting thing ever "the big piano" there was a show where two very talented women stepped on the tabs and played very popular songs, I was so joyful I felt like dancing. After the show was over I was able to step on the big piano wich was so much fun I didn´t want to get off until my family got annoyed of waiting and asked me to get off. We headed back to Times Square and got tickets to Wicked. We where at the theater it was so big and kind of scary, I was feeling nervous because I didn´t want to be disappointed, I had heard so many great things about the play I thought it would´t fill my expectations. It was better than I expected, it reminded me of the meaning of true friendship and made me happy to realize I had true friends. We went Ice Skating to the Rockefeller Center, I felt so useless everyone was so good at skating except for me, it was so annoying to think I was getting good at it and loosing that sensation while I was trying to get up again and was unable to. Next stop was the empire state, being on top was awesome it was also kind of sad because being up there you realize how small and insignificant you are to the world, but the view was awesome. Our last stop was the memorial to the twin towers, we passed through a shop wich played videos of the deceased on the terrorism attack family members talking about their experience, I felt a knot in my throat but was unable to cry. I kept that sensation until we reached the fountain wich had the names of the deceased in it, then my father made a comment on how many illegal mexicans where not recognized and their family never got news of them again then the knot went away and I actually began crying. I wish I can have a trip like that again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 4; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb