Welcome to the Center of the Universe


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
August 15th 2006
Published: August 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Center of the UniverseThe Center of the UniverseThe Center of the Universe

At the intersection of Broadway and 7th Avenue between 42nd and 46th streets in Times Square, I have seen the light and it sure shines bright ... all the time.
While Galileo Galilei may have gone before the church in Rome (1612) and professed that the earth was not the center of the universe (according to the Copernican theory) and for such heresy he was put under house arrest for the remainder of his life. Well Galileo Galilei obviously has never been to New York City (especially Times Square), if he had, he may have made an small exception before ratifying this theory. I was born to live in this city, its simply incredible. I know that it maybe a concrete jungle, but the cosmopolitan make up of the people makes it’s so incredibly interesting. I believe that London is the only other city that comes close to NYC.

Well, I landed in NYC, a day after the arrests in England of the terrorists involved in the plot to blow up various airplanes over the Atlantic ocean … great … a week before I am suppose to leave to London, not so good … but no one is going to mess with my holiday. Well, in anticipation of long lines and the probably of missing our flight, Felicia and I got up at 4am and race to the airport at
Manhattan Skyline from Central ParkManhattan Skyline from Central ParkManhattan Skyline from Central Park

Spend sometime relaxing in the park and reading my book over the weekend. This is the view that I had between the trees. Massive amounts of people come and enjoy Central Park during the summer months.
a speed far in excess of the speed limit. Oh, none of the imminent delays materialized and we were in the lounge with 2 hours to spare … wonderful.

Once in the city, I spent most of the afternoon lapsing in and out of consciousness due to lack of sleep and hard work helping Design Legacy get ready for their trade show. Once I eventually got out of there, it was after 8pm … the rest of the evening a blur but we are staying in a great hotel on 62nd and York, The Bentley Hotel. This hotel is definitely worth staying at, well priced and an incredibly view of the Queensboro Bridge.

Well, as not to bore everyone with my verbal diatribe, here are some of the highlights of my trip so far. The weather has been perfect and with Felicia working the entire day
I have kept myself busy with sight seeing and spending lots of time in Central Park. As all of you know, I would very much like to move to NYC next year (Feb, 2007). I really like the Upper East Side, anywhere between 62nd and 86th street and 5th and Lexington. That
Boat House in Central ParkBoat House in Central ParkBoat House in Central Park

This is the spot to go to if you have a single romantic bone in your body, ideally it would first be a boat ride on the lake in then drinks afterwards, if you don't get lucky after that, you never will!
area has a really nice feel to it. I have spent every morning running (read: stumbling) through the park, it seems that half of NYC exercises in the park over the weekend. I however did find a game of touch rugby in the park on Sundays (3.00pm) at 86th and Central Park West. They are not very good but at least it’s a way to meet people. And to make matters even better, I found a bastion of civilization in the Baker Str. Bar (63rd and 1st). The bar shows the tri-nations rugby games.

From the Natural science museum, the planetarium and the Metropolitan, there is so much to do and see. Felicia and I did take a City Lights Tours that I highly recommend. I have been fortunate however to be able to spend some incredible evenings with Felicia after work. If you are ever in NYC, you have to take your significant other to the Boathouse in Central Park; you will knock their socks off. Without a doubt, the best time of the day would be sunset; we were able to watch the sun go down while sitting in plush leather chairs. The only down side to
Felicia and I at the Boat HouseFelicia and I at the Boat HouseFelicia and I at the Boat House

The two of us enjoying a drink while watching the sun go down, I was told to put in a disclaimer about her having a bad hair day. But its the only one that I have,
all this fun that I am having, is that it does cost money and lots of it. But sometimes it’s simply worth it.

Well, enough about me, I am having an incredible time walking the streets of the city. It’s a perfect way to spend the day, taking in all the sights and sounds of the city. I leave here on Wednesday and have only 8 hours in Dallas before I turn around and head out to London. I will be sure to update my blog again then,

Cheers from Times Square, NYC


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Manhattan Skyline from BrooklynManhattan Skyline from Brooklyn
Manhattan Skyline from Brooklyn

The City Lights Tour through Manhattan and Brooklyn gives you an amazing view of the city and Statue of Liberty (not shown). Definately worth doing on any trip to NYC.


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb