New York New York.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
April 23rd 2006
Published: June 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'll be blunt. This place is fucking cool. I was there for two days and saw a dismally small number of tourist attractions largely due to time constraints but also because it rained the whole time. Luckily, there are about 2 million places to buy $3 umbrellas.
I met some Australian guy who had about as much time as I did, so we went and saw the Empire state building, I had a ticket to go up but didn't bother that day because it was wet and raining and I wasn't going waste it to go all the way to the top and look at clouds and rain about 3 inches from my nose. But I experienced the New York subway (which yes has a few odd characters, but after now living in Toronto for two months, the New York subway weirdo’s have nothing on Torontonian weirdo’s. seriously, it's no where near as bad as it's reputed to be, and incredibly convenient), and one new York pizza, which is basically just a pizza...but really big and you could deep fry a chicken in the oil on top of it. But it was cool to eat just to say I have.
New York is massive, and incredibly intense. Some people are rude, but as a whole again it's not that bad. Although, once when I asked a lady for directions her response was "buy a map" which I guess is good advice, but I probably could have worked that one out for myself. But yeah, I got off the bus in the middle of China town with no map, no idea where I was with regards to anywhere, and a painfully heavy bag. So I caught a cab. So, in Melbourne if you drive in a Cab for 20 minutes, you'll be well and truly out of the CBD. 10 minutes, 20 minutes, 30 minutes later.....I’m still completely surrounded by sky scrappers and somewhere in the middle of the city. I picked a random tall building and went to the top to try and see the horizon of the city....you can't.
So I was there on a Saturday night which kinda sucked cos I’m not 21 and therefore unable to drink anywhere....but I have every intention of going back there before I leave the east cost of North America, mainly to go out and see everything else that I missed.
However! I did go on the Sex and the City tour of the city and that was great. It was pretty interesting to see where they filmed and the surroundings etc. I saw Carries stoop and the pub that Aiden owned. There was one male on the trip. He was gay. Oh and large group of women on a Hens weekend from Chicago. They were pretty funny, but I got tired of "Oh my god you're so cute and I LOVE your accent! Say tomato." ..apparently I was quite a novelty for them, which was weird cos I mean, Australians are everywhere...we're not a rare breed, but anyway.
That night I caught a greyhound bus back to Boston. The greyhound buses are great cos they're cheap but I think I might avoid them from now on because I found out the other day that in America, when you get out of jail, you get a greyhound bus pass to get where you need to go. Wonderful.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb