New York Trip - Day 7 - Tuesday


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
December 27th 2011
Published: January 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The Metropolitan Museum Of ArtThe Metropolitan Museum Of ArtThe Metropolitan Museum Of Art

Long line waiting to get in. I figure I will come back when it is less crowded.
New York Trip Day 7- Tuesday - December 27 - Having a slow start of it today. Today will make a short day of it and just visit the Met. That should be plenty from what I have read about its size.

Going to be a balmy 56 degrees with rain showers this afternoon.

Well its after 11 so I guess I had better get dressed and head downstairs before they take the coffee up.

Tuesday 4:45 PM

Back in my room changing my wet coat and shirt for a dry raincoat and shirt. The line was a tad long just getting into the Met ( and that was just the line outside), so I decided I would save that gem for my next trip here. I actually found a shorter line on the other side but decided it would be too crowded anyway and I will do it on my next trip to New York.

So I moved on to the next item on my list which was to walk over the Brooklyn Bridge from the Brooklyn side back towards Manhattan. I took the Q train to Brooklyn which was a mistake because it turned
Map at High Street Station for Brooklyn Bridge AccessMap at High Street Station for Brooklyn Bridge AccessMap at High Street Station for Brooklyn Bridge Access

Map at High Street Station on the "A" line for access to the Brooklyn Bridge in Brooklyn so you can walk back over it to Manhattan.
out to be an express and I could not get off till I got to DeKalb Ave in Brooklyn so I had to get off and figure a way back which was taking the R train to Jay Street Station, and getting on the A train to High Street Station which is near the Bridge. From there I figured out in the rain how to get to the bridge and then “up on” the bridge by a not very well marked stairway. So I walked over the bridge from the Brooklyn side back to Manhatten. It sure would have been a good view if the weather was better.



While I was exploring Amsterdam Avenue yesterday I found a couple of Irish Pubs just around the corner from 79th street. Think I will ease over there and have a pint and something to eat.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

City Hall StationCity Hall Station
City Hall Station

City Hall Station at the West end of the Bridge in Manhattan.


6th January 2012

The weather
You certainly are experiencing unseasonable weather for NYC at Christmas. Good for you.
7th January 2012

weather
Yes, the weather was pretty good albeit a bit cold for a Texan. I'm glad I had some warm gloves to wear. I'm considering going back in February and hopefully get some snow.

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb