NYC MEDIA TOUR


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
October 23rd 2011
Published: December 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

2011 has been one of the busiest years for me and traveling and meeting new people. First, Hollywood, Florida and Key West. And now New York City! I was so excited because I had never been anywhere up North before and for the first time ever going that way I would be in New York of all places. So Cool! Once my husband and I found out that we were expecting I was completely drained of all my excitement. I just wasn’t feeling too good, but it was already paid for.

October 18,2011

It’s the day before departure and I hadn’t even packed. I spent all day complaining to my husband that I didn’t want to go anymore. I just could not muster up the excitement that I had at first. Finally I pulled myself together and prepared for my adventure to the Big Apple. As I am packing I log onto my facebook page to check messages only to find out that our 7am flight was cancelled and we would have to split up into 3 different groups in order to get all 12 of us to NYC. Then I learned that I was placed on the 530 am flight. Imagine my frustration. Finished packing. Well lights out!

October 19th-Day One
Alarm went off at 4am. Got dressed brushed my teeth and headed to the airport at 415. Arrived at the airport and my husband helps me take my luggage out of the car. I was so sad that I was going to be so far away from my husband for the first time. I mean its a different time zone! Hugs and kisses and then I was on my way. I met up with the group I would be departing to New york with only to find out that there was another mix up. We get everything situated and head to the plane. First group to arrive in new york. We check into our rooms at the wellington hotel in manhattan and get ready to roam the streets in the rain. It was my first time in Times Square and I loved it! The lights, ads, and the people everywhere. It was just like the movies protrayed it to be. After a bit of adventuring we decided to grab a bite to eat at rays pizza and then off to the irish pub for dessert. It was a good ending to my first night in New York.

October 20th- Day Two

I woke up this morning not by an alarm or a bird chirping, but to several car horns down on the street. We are definitely not in Oklahoma any more. Good Morning New York! I get ready and then head down stairs in search of breakfast. A few of us walked about a block down to the Café Metro and grabbed something to eat then headed back to the hotel to meet up with the group and we were off to our first destination; Clear Channel Communications. After arriving to Clear Channel we took a tour of the facility. We got to see the auditorium where they put on some of their concerts and conferences. We visited all of their radio stations such as Z100,Q104.3, and Power 105.1. What made the trip even cooler is that when we stepped in to view Power 105.1 D.L Hughley was being interviewed in the studio. Some people didn’t know that he was a well known comedian. I’ve seen a lot of his work. I like him. Anyway we continued on our tour through Clear Channel and learned about other radio personalities in the company and celebrities they had interviewed. We got to take a look at the software and equipment they use to produce their shows and more. I want to be a talk show host one day, but after the visit to Clear Channel it definitely made me want to explore a future in radio. After a big lunch at Lindy’s, we head over to the Paley Event Center. We learned about political advertisements and the different methods political candidates use to catch our attention with songs, images of what life would be like if we elect them for office, and messages about a candidate’s character. The Paley Center for Media leads the discussion about the cultural, creative, and social significance of television, radio, and emerging platforms for the professional community and media-interested public.The Paley Event Center also hosts many upscale events and fundraisers with high end guests and celebrities. After our visit to the Paley Event Center, it was time for some exploring. A few of us walked down to Times Square and did some shopping and sightseeing. Later that night the whole gang went out to dinner at the Hard Rock Café. Another perfect night in New York.



October 21st- Day Three

Wake up. Get ready. Grab breakfast. Then it was time to meet up with the crew again and head to our next destination; the International Radio and Television Society Foundation. After about a 25 minute walk, we finally arrived. I was suddenly breath taken by the sight of the Empire State building that was right across the street and next door was the famous Grand Central Station I had heard so much about. It was one of the highlights of the whole trip for me. Time to go meet Joyce Tudryn, President and CEO of IRTS. She was very kind and insightful. We gathered around her desk and told her a little bit about who we were and what our career goals were. Joyce told us about how she had gotten her start in Public Relations and the events that led her to be where she is today. The most important thing I learned from talking to Joyce is that the perfect opportunity is usually right in front of you and life may take you down some different avenues before you stop to notice it. After leaving IRTS, a few of us went to grab a bite to eat and did some more exploring. I got back to the hotel, took a little nap, and then hit the streets again. We took the subway to China Town to find some good deals on souvenirs and other things. After doing all the damage to our pockets for the day, it was time to get back to the hotel and get ready for a night of Broadway. Most of us went to see the Mary Poppins musical. IT WAS FANTASTIC!!!! I felt like I was a kid seeing the musical for the first time. The theatrics were unbelievable. I’m defiantly going to make my way back to New York just to see more Broadway shows. Off to the hotel to get some sleep. One more full day of New York. I want to make sure I have the energy to enjoy it.

October 22nd-Day Four

Today I was really excited about the tour at CBS news. Mike Sims, Vice President of Editorial and News at CBSnews.com, was also a UCO alumnus. He took us through the news studio and the radio stations throughout the building. One of the things Mike told us was to start off in a smaller market first before moving to a bigger market like NYC. After leaving CBS it was time to enjoy what was left of my stay in New York. A group of us visited China town again for more shopping, eating and sightseeing. We took the subway back to the hotel, browsed around Times Square a bit and then we all met up at the Oklahoma Sooner bar to watch the game. Then it was back to the hotel to pack. 7am flight back to Oklahoma City in the morning. I had fun. Goodbye New York. We shall meet again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.263s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0925s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb