Week Two!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
April 18th 2011
Published: April 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The weather has turned beautiful for the last two days, still cold yesterday, and windy, but today 60 for the high! WooHoo!! So I've already been out this morning taking pictures which I will share!

I did end up going to a play Saturday night, "The Motherf**ker in the Hat," with Chris Rock. I thought it was going to be more of a stand-up thing but it was actually a play with him in the cast. I'm liking the musicals better than the plays, as I guess could be expected. The plays are about people and things that I have to wonder why someone decided to write a play about. Lombardi, of course, being the exception. So, on Sunday I saw another play, "Bengal Tiger at the Baghad Zoo," with Robin Williams. Again, funny and sad at the same time...a play about the Iraq war from the perspective of a tiger in the zoo...hence the title (ha!). Williams was outstanding and as far as the plays go, this is my favorite so far. But...Sunday night, I saw "Priscilla, Queen of the Desert," and OMG, what a great musical! Up there with "American Idiot" in my ratings. I guess there was movie a few years back but I don't remember it and didn't see it. I sat by a couple from Austin so that was fun as well. The story, the cast, the songs, the scenery...all of it just incredible!!

My Sunday morning adventure was the first bust of the trip. To those of you who know me best, this will come as no surprise! One of the things I was most looking forward to was visiting different Episcopal churches in the city every Sunday. I had chosen St. Bart's for the first Sunday which is on Park Ave. between 50th and 51st. So instead of going early even though I was ready, I waited until 10:30 thinking I would have plenty of time to make it by 11. At 5th Ave and 50th, I saw this beautiful church and got it in my head that it was St. Bart's, even standing outside taking pictures...but when I went inside, the service had started at 10:15 and the next one was not until 12. I got my trusty iPhone out and checked the website which said the service was at 11. I even talked to an usher who gave me the schedule...of St. Patrick's. Still having it in my head that St. Bart's was on 5th instead of Park, I started walking toward 325 5th Ave. which is way the hell away from 50th. When I got there of course, it was not St. Bart's. Then it dawned on me that I was on 5th instead of Park. So I looked in my trusty notebook and saw that St. Thomas had a 12:10 service and it was back at 53rd and 5th. So I walked all the way back only to find out the 12:10 services are during the week. I looked up later services and saw that St. Bart's had a 5:00 service but soon realized that I had a play ticket for 3:00 which would not leave me time to make the service. So...no church for me on Palm Sunday! But next Sunday, for sure I am going to a church on the Easter Parade route so that I can make both!! I guess for all I've done, if that's the only mistake so far, I'm doing OK. One of the worst parts was I was wearing boots and my feet were killing me. Since feet are one's most valuable resource on a trip like this, that was not a good thing. So I did have time to go home, take care of my feet and change into better shoes!

OK I'm seriously considering deleting that whole paragraph but I'm leaving it! The good with the bad, right?

So...I'm getting out of this indoor place and going outside to enjoy this beautiful day before it rains again tomorrow!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



18th April 2011

your sunday
It is so fun to read even about your foibles. You are out there doing incredible fun and interesting things and getting mixed up with churches is just part of the party. Enjoy!!!!!! And have a great Easter. My life is pretty hum drum next to what you are doing every day. I am spending time with mostly the 10 grandchildren (10 and under) and with mom (age 88). David is turning 50 on July 2nd and we are haing a party so come if you can!!!!!!!
18th April 2011

Religion just seems to always become difficult, but your ezperience was memorable.
23rd April 2011

Loving the pictures! The trees look so pretty, and it's great to see your Starbucks hang out :)

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb