Day 14


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
February 9th 2011
Published: February 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Day 14 - 9/2/11

(Mum’s American Birthday)

We slept in a little this day, not leaving until around 10.30. First stop was TKTS, as I wanted to see a matinee show in the afternoon. I ended up deciding on La Cage Aux Folles, but I’ll go on about that later…

From there, we caught the subway downtown, and walked halfway across the Brooklyn Bridge. It’s something I didn’t do last time I was here, and I’m definitely glad we decided to do it this time, as the views of the city are actually really good from the bridge, as well as the bridge itself being very photogenic! Again it was very windy, and therefore very cold, but worth it all the same.

From there, we headed back to Century 21 so I could buy a second case for everything I’ve bought, so I can get it all back home!! Found a decent sized one for only $35 or so, bought it, we headed back to Times Square. There was still time before the show, so we had a look in the visitors centre, where I bought New York City Monopoly! Now I’ve got a second case I might as well fill it, right?!?

We took the case, and monopoly back to the hotel, and I headed up about 2 blocks to the Longacre Theatre, which was quite a small one. La Cage Aux Folles is what the movie The Birdcage, starring Robin Williams and Nathan Lane, was based on. So I already knew it was a great story, and had heard the lead actor had won Tony Award’s for his performance. Kelsy Grammer played the part Robin Williams was in the film, and with an actor called Douglas Hodge playing opposite him. These two are only in the show for another couple of days, and have been in it for over a year I believe. They were both fantastic – thought Kelsey’s singing could be slightly more in tune =P The whole cast was really great! I’d highly recommend anyone coming to NYC go and see it!

After the show was over, I waited by the stage door, and as well as meeting a couple of the guys that were in the ‘chorus’, I met Kelsey Grammer!! I got his autograph on the program, and some photo’s of him signing everyone’s things! He was really quite lovely!!

I raced back to the hotel to meet Carl, so excited to tell someone about my exciting news!! We relaxed at the hotel for a little bit, before heading out for dinner.

We went to Planet Hollywood in Times Square, which is slightly tacky, but fun all the same! They even have people come around to your table to take photos of you, then show you the photo around half an hour later. The photo of us was quite nice, though in the background you can see other patrons stuffing their mouths full of food, so it kind of ruins the photo… I don’t really think it’s a well thought out plan!

I decided to try the American version of a Chicken Parma, and the parma itself was quite nice. Parma’s come under the Pasta menu, and come sitting on top of pasta – no chips! Had to order a side of fries, and didn’t touch the pasta out of spite =P

After dinner, we decided to have another drink at the Hard Rock Café. It’s really pretty in the bar area, with all these lanterns that hang down, all different colours.

We decided nowhere else exciting was open, so headed to Walgreens to grab some mixers for oru alcohol that we still had, and headed back to the hotel. Everything was going fine, then all of a sudden I realised I’d had a little too much to drink…

Advertisement



Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0788s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb