Curtain Call


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
October 27th 2010
Published: October 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hard to believe that the end of this wonderful journey is in sight. On Monday evening, we had our last acting class and scene performances. As luck would have it, we were reassigned to a different room...much smaller, and with a ceiling that very nearly pulled at the few hairs I have left on my head. To add to the drama, there is a mini-"heat wave" happening in the city and it was incredibly humid. I was in costume (sweater, tie etc) and with my all-consuming stage fright thought I was going to die. As it turned out, my scene performance with my partner was the last of the evening which only added to my near collapse. In some strange ways, perhaps it enhanced our performance and we ended the evening with an explosive performance. In the scene, where I am accused of sexual harassment, and this girl has destroyed my life, we had rehearsed the one act of violence where I grab her by the collar and push her to the ground. Maybe it was the heat, maybe it was the room, maybe it was the nerves, and maybe, just maybe, it was four weeks of learning coming to fruition but I literally lifted her and threw her to the ground like a rag doll. I was shaking even after we finished our performance and the class responded with incredible enthusiasm.

Suddenly it was all over...we were all hugging each other, congratulating each other and joyous about the experiences we had enjoyed, saddened that this was goodbye. As many people in the class are from other countries, and beginning their journeys back home, we knew that this was indeed the end...at least for now.

For me, and I know for others, this course has opened a door that I didn't know really existed. I am certainly not an expert now on "Method" acting...this was merely a "sampler", a taste of a craft that takes many years to master. But I am excited by the challenges I was faced with, the discoveries I have made about myself and have a newfound respect for theatre and acting as a whole. I know that I will take all that I have learned with me on the road ahead and who knows what the next "chapter" will be in my life.

I have made wonderful friendships in this city. The greatest relationship however, is with the city itself. I truly am in love with this magical place. I love the fact that I now scorn the tourists who get in my way when I am rushing off somewhere!!! So, a few days to go and very excited...tomorrow night I will see James Earl Jones and Vanessa Redgrave on Broadway in "Driving Miss Daisy"....a little reward to myself for all my hard work at school! A few more days and a few more "rewards" then it's off to a totally different adventure...

Advertisement



28th October 2010

final scene
Knowing what I know about your very irregular rehearsal schedule for that final scene, I am so glad you were able to :"throw her to the floor" like a rag doll! Could it be you were releasing some pent up emotions?? is that Method or just repressed anger!! Glad it was so convincing. There is great satisfaction in taking charge and being in control even when you appear to be out of control. Sounds like she got what she deserved!! everyones applause!! Enjoy your week! Have you thought of seeing La Cage Aux Folles ? It could make up for missing Prisilla!!! take care , Ken

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1019.9kb