One week down..... (Dave)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
April 8th 2009
Published: April 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Its now two-thirty on a Wednesday and I just woke up. Lazy bastard I hear you all think but nay, I was up all night last night making up for lost job-hunting time.

Our good friend Karen M once told us that when moving to a new city, you should say "YES" to all opportunities (kinda like that new Jim Carrey movie) to make the most everything especially with making new friends and feeling at home in a foreign land, and it's advice that has paid off so far.

I found myself in this predicament yesterday when Penny, eager to escape the duldrums of sitting in the apartment all day staring at computer screens, found a yoga class that offered FREE introductory classes.
(Since we are yet to find jobs, budget is priority no.1)

"Why not?" I heard myself saying and we headed out in the brisk New York morning.

Now for those of you that know me well, you understand my wearing of shorts at almost all possible times.
New York however is a completely different kettle of fish and saw the purchase of new boots for Pen and a beanie for me (I felt my ears were going to fall off yesterday) This city is bloody cold! (Pen was going nuts that she saw snow fall this morning and this place is supposed to warming up????????)

Anyway back to the Yoga, being my first experience I had a fair idea with what to expect but to be perfectly honest it did stretch some muscles that I never knew I had, but when it comes to exercise, give me running around a footy oval with 40 other blokes any day of the week.
At the end of the class the Yoga teacher thanked us for bringing our aura, our energy, our spirit and our light!
I can't see a footy coach saying that after training.

Otherwise, I'm settling in well. Scott and Keri are wonderful people and it's a pleasure to be staying with them. I caught up with with my mate Al (who I taught with in China) on the weekend and reminisced about old times.

Back to job hunting.........




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb