NYC in October


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
October 15th 2008
Published: November 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Took Piper Lee to NYC for her first visit and our first trip back post 9/11. I love this place. You somehow move faster and feel more alive here than anywhere else I've been. We drove, more just to do it once than for any other reason. I didn't count on the personal impact of driving from New Jersey heading towards NYC, looking across the water and not seeing the Twin Towers. I sat in the passenger seat, tears rolling down my cheeks. They were missing and my unconscious knew it. Of course, we managed to exit the tunnel and take a wrong turn (how you can turn wrong out of a tunnel exit escapes me.) When we ended up at the ferry that takes you to the Statue of Liberty instead of the Upper East Side, we pulled over and entered our hotel's address into our Subaru's route guidance system. Never have I been so happy to hear that female voice snapping "turn left now!" as she directed us to our hotel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb