New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
October 10th 2008
Published: October 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

What a start to my trip. My flight out of Vancouver was delayed by one hour. I was afraid I wouldn't make my connecting flight as there was foreign debris on the runway. I can't believe it took the airport cleanup crew one hour to clear it. I was starting to think that the delay was a bad omen for the rest of my trip, but then I thought this could happen on any part of my around the world trip so why worry? Shit happens. I wonder how much shit will happen on this trip...lol. Hopefully I won't step into it...

For the most part, the flight between Vancouver and Dallas was uneventful. Woo hoo, I made my connecting flight. New York here I come. At this point I was probably celebrating to soon. After landing at LaGuardia airport, I found out my luggage didn't make the connecting flight with me...oh well, shit happens (stepped into that one). At least I wasn't pissed off at the staff like so many other passengers. I filed my lost luggage report and booked the SuperShuttle (door to door service and cheaper than the taxi) to the hostel. The driver was a maniac. He was driving all over the road, talking on his cellphone, and checking all the drop off sheets at the same time. I thought I was going to die, but then I thought well, if I'm going to go at least I made it to New York...lol.

I checked into the hostel without any problems (things are looking up) and found a Japanese restaurant that was open at 11:00 pm. The food was surprisingly good compared to Japanese restaurants in Vancouver. Except for the head sushi chef, all the other sushi chefs were Chinese. After chat with my Asian brothers, one of them offers to get me free food if I wasn't full from what I ordered. Things were definitely looking up.

After dinner, I headed to bed only to find someone sleeping in my bed...I take back the "things were looking up" part...lol. I woke up the bloke and told him he was in the wrong bed. He didn't quite understand my perfect English as he spoke perfect French...hmmmm, I knew I should have study French harder in High School...lol. Turns out the bloke was from Belgium. With his broken English and my near non-existent French, we sorted things out and I made a new friend. His name is Mourad. So there I lay in bed with no clothes to wear for the next day. I hope my luggage shows up or I will definitely need to go shopping...god I hate shopping...lol. Hope tomorrow is a better day 😊



Advertisement



27th October 2008

good start
Looks good keep it up . I can't wait for the rest of the week

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb