We've always dreamed it...but now we're living it!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
October 24th 2008
Published: October 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

L&JL&JL&J

Julia and Libby
Let me introduce myself....My name is Libby. I come from a small Midwest town where I still travel back to at least once a year to head to the local bar and see more than just familiar faces, but friends that will last me my lifetime (I feel I am very lucky). Although I love the simplicity of a small town, I decided to bounce out of that shell at 18 and move to Seattle, Washington to become a Husky- something that I will always be proud to be. Then after four years of PAC NW I once again felt the need to jump across the country and land in New York City! I do love it here- I love the energy, the people, the crazy tunnel vision people have when walking down the streets, the constant feeling of my life with the fast forward button on x3...yes I do love it. I also landed a pretty sweet job with a great company...so all I can say my first three and half years here have been nothing but exciting. But then there it was...the itch...the itch that I just couldn't scratch until I booked my plane ticket (with my best bud Jules) and we decided to embark on a crazy adventure in the Land Downunder.

We chose Australia for many reasons. First I wanted the excuse to live by a beach, learn to surf and meet people who speak the same language but sound so much more interesting, and the excuse not to work...not that I don't like to be challenged, but I felt I owed it to myself to take a little break and shed some stress...so there you have it, I basically chose a place where we could find ourselves at some of the best beaches in the world. So once I came up with this little plan, I emailed Julia (who is in San Diego) and asked her if she wanted to join. Within 30 minutes I had a "Hell Yes!" response in my mailbox and it was done- we were going!

Right now I am on my last few months in New York. I have an exciting trip planned with my boyfriend to Costa Rica over Thanksgiving and then on Dec 24th I do a month "tour" around the US, a week in Fl. Keys, a week in Chicago (burr), a week in Seattle (burr), and a week in San Diego/LA. I wanted to make sure to see all of my friends and family before I took off for a few months. Then on Jan 20th we begin out trip to New Zealand for a couple of weeks, Cook Islands for a week, Australia for about 2.5 months and then finishing out in Fiji until heading back to LA May 9th.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb