Making History on a Schmap


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
June 11th 2008
Published: June 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I did get slightly ill the day after Monte and Lisa did, my stomach was in knots all morning and I finally tried to eat after 3pm. I was a little nervous and went through a few moments were I felt the puke on its way, but it subsided and by 5:30 pm I felt decent and was good through the night.

The days are rolling right along here in the Big Apple, I can not believe it has already been a week since I got here. The weather has been extremely hot as well as very humid. A couple days it was so yucky that we did not really want to be out. We went to Central Park and Ariel wanted to go home because everything was too hot. Yesterday we went to the Natural History Museum and again it was this yucky heat, we were sweating standing still and the air was difficult to breathe. I even saw a penny the day before melted in the street. The NHM was pretty good, Ariel stayed rather interested as we went through ocean, mammal, dinosaur, earth, space and various ancient peoples and artifacts. The best and most exciting part was the "Lizards and Snakes Alive exhibit. We spent some good time staring and teasing the snakes and lizards. The giant snake wanted Ariel for lunch as she gave it kisses through the glass.

Today we were all run down, yet I really wanted to check out this place "Jacks 99 Store" as I have heard so much about it and read so many reviews. I went alone on a quick venture while Lisa stayed with the kids. I spent $30 but was able to buy a fair amount of goodies and staple foods for the apartment. Monte is supposed to get off a little early and then we hope to go get Ethiopian food for dinner.

About a month ago, I was sent a message on my www.flickr.com account about a photo I took of the East Side Gallery in Berlin, Germany. They asked if I would be willing to submit my photo for entry in their "Schmap." I thought why not, sent it in, yesterday I got an email with a link of the Schmap and was told it was accepted in. I do not get anything for this other than recognition. It is pretty neat though! You can see a widget of the Schmap on my new blog - http://butterflyerin.blogspot.com/ The widget randomly shows photos and attractions but you get the point. 😊

Tomorrow we may be going to SOHO to the Childrens Museum of Arts, we shall see. Atleast today felt a little cooler out.

Peace
Erin




Advertisement



Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb