first day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
May 13th 2008
Published: May 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from NYC.....

My first day went like this. Breadman was early yes early! I wasn't ready still needed to shower. We got going i thought it would be a breeze getting to the airport no traffic @ 7am. Sometimes its just lies as there was and to beat that we missed the Airport turn off by 2 junctions...... It was laughing though as we still got there for just after 8am

I go to check in and this lady proceeds to tell me i have to check in on a machine that i get annoyed with but all is good in the end.... The flight was ok sat next to a guy who has family in the states (dual nationality the lucky bugger) he talked to me for most of the flight. When i wasn't asleep that is....

Landed got through customs fairly quick. Asking me why i was here for months etc etc. Didn't get my bag searched which was nice.
I decided i'd be tight and get the subway from JFK to the hostel cheap at 9 dollars but it took about 90 minutes.

Checked in at the hostel all good met a guy from Olkahoma who is here to busk at subway stations. He is like in his 50's nice guy. Played me a Johnny Cash song on his guitar and chatted to me for a while. By this time it was 4pm so i figured i'd go and head up to meet Jess. i walked for 103rd street to 49th street and waited for Jess and waited a bit more. She is nearly as good as Breadman when it comes to lateness.
When we met Jess informed me i was in for an exciting night of her doing her Laundry. So we got the train to Queens i met her cat Echo and watched tv while she sorted out said laundry. which took a while as she has so much! She wouldn't let me see it but the bag she filled to take was massive! Which was a quarter of what she had. I must also point out this wasn't jess' idea of a great night in NYC she had to do her laundry as she is going to Denmark today with work.
We went to the laundromat Jess bought me a Gyro which was good. Its basically a Doner Kebab we had chicken on ours too. I had a Snapple with my Gyro peach flavor we should sell snapple in england so good!

We then had to wait while the laundry dried. Took about 30 minutes, headed back to Jess' apartment where the tiredness hit me hard. So i got the train back to the hostel and retired for the evening.

Right its now 0900 hours i am hungry gonna get some breakfast.... Today's plan is walk and look maybe hit up the met.

Gav

Advertisement



13th May 2008

All that way to wash some birds gruds, youre a sick man gav!
14th May 2008

I love that Das OX had an american doner and washed it down with some fruit!! amazing.

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb