NYC VS LA


Advertisement
Published: May 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

NYC

In August I went to NYC for the weekend. I ended up staying at an upper east side hostel. My visit was short and extremely hot. The weekend I decided to go was the hottest weekend of the year in NYC. It averaged 35 degrees Celsius per day. I flew into Laguardia and then took an easy bus ride into Harlem and took the Lex train to our hostel at 192st. It was a nice place and myself and my lady got a private room. While we were in NYC we did a great deal of walking around and site-seeing. We saw the park, Canal St , 5th ave and Times Square. I found NYC to be a large sized Toronto. If you love shopping and the theatre I would say NYC is your place. Check out below for a number of pictures from NYC.


Los Angeles

I spent 4 days cruising around LA , Santa Monica , Hollywood and Huntington Beach. I flew from Buffalo to LA with Continental , which was pretty good since for the low price I paid all I had to do was take a 35 min flight to Cleveland. I arrived at LAX around 10:00 Am . Some of my friends picked me up and we headed to our hotel.


The Sheraton Delfina in Santa Monica.

The Sheraton has been renovated into a hipster hangout. The hotel itself is a nice hotel around 3 blocks from the beach. It is kind of noisy to say the least. There was a large wedding party going on when we were there. There was even a Dj playing in the lobby. Over all, the hotel was very posh and I usually sleep like a baby anyway. On a side note in the US they have no clue what a Caesar drink is and their substitute is a Bloody Mary and it is not good.

On our first night we walked around the Santa Monica Pier, which is really cool and has rides. On our second day we headed to Huntington Beach for a little surfing. The waves were nice and big and me being a super awesome surfer I hit a total of 3 waves. I had a huge rental board. After that we drove back up PCH, all along the coast. We went through Long Beach, Ingelwood, Venice and onto Santa Monica. The next day we got up nice and early and headed to meet some stars. We drove up Santa Monica Blvd through Beverly Hills, where I tried to take a picture of the Flight Centre there... mmmmm Dream Job anyone? We walked around Hollywood for about 4 hours looking at tons of stars on the ground. 97% of the stars I had no clue who they were. We had a pretty cool star sighting . We were sitting in a restaurant right across the road from the Kodak Theater and were sitting at a long table watching the football game and eating wings. The guy beside me kept getting introduced to random people. I ended up talking to him for a few minutes about the huge play on the TV. When he stood up to leave I realized it was none other that BackStreet Boy Nick Carter. WOW.

Anyways after being really star struck (ha ha ha) we went on an adventure to look for the Hollywood sign. We ended up on the side of some hill in the Hollywood Hills with an amazing view of the whole city and of course the really cool sign. After that we headed home and hung around the hotel. The next day I flew back and came back to work. All in all LA is super cool. Please take a look at some of the LA pictures too.

NYC Pictures




Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb