The Big Apple - New York, New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
April 28th 2008
Published: April 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Additional maps: Untitled

It's been almost 6 years since I was in New York. Last time I was here it was shortly after 9/11 and the mood of the city was totally different. The atmosphere was subdued, insular and people were in a hurry to get to their destination. Now people are more friendly and relaxed - there are more people on the streets. Helicopters once banned from the city, now fly at their non stop speed ferrying passengers for the ultimate birds eye view of New Yorks skyline. What has struck me the most, is that although the city has limited open spaces, the parks and squares they do have, are used to their maximum potential. I sat in one such park and watched people walk their dogs, play sports, feed their children, have a business meeting and sip their cappacinos - whilst squirrels frolic in the park. All the while the buzz of street traffic murmurs in the distance. This again appears to be part of New York's new found confidence.
Disappointingly the last time I was here my camera packed in - I bought a disposable camera, which is blasphamy for any serious photographer - so I decided I would do all the touristy cliche things I could. So far I have eaten the obligatory hot dog whilst walking around Times Square. I took the 'elevator' to the 86th floor of the Empire State building. I sat in 'Lindys' all american diner and stuffed my face with eggs, bacon, fries and pancakes - with all you can drink coffee (Anna - I don't think that I will ever be that skinny girl I was hoping for!).
I got up early to experience the buzz of the city awakening, shops opening, workers having their coffee and danish on the way to work, street sweepers washing the streets down. I strolled through Central Park - this time of year full of cherry blossom trees of pinks, purples and all the colours in between. I walk past roller bladers, dog walkers and even a group of young mothers doing stroller exercise. This entails excise stretches using pushchairs (including babies) with a fit American guy as their trainer - it's difficult to decide whether they are there for the fitness.....or the guy.....only in America!
I make a stop at the Met Art Gallery...on the top of the building is two 8ft tall balloons, one the shape of a dog and the other a heart - You know the sort clowns make for children's parties...like that. Both were filled with helium...I kept thinking - you would have a very squeaky voice if you sucked on that lot!
The Times Square West hostel is a great little place. I find myself sharing with 5 blokes, 2 from Dublin (surfer dudes), 1 from France (typically French) and 2 Italian's (They may be batting for the otherside..get my drift). Free coffee, Free Internet.....what more can a girl ask for!
I don't think it's sunk in yet, that this is not a holiday - that this is actually my life. It has been ingrained into me from an early age that I must work hard, get the promotion and earn the money - I never stopped to question whether it was what I wanted....it was just expected!
Today I visted 'Ground Zero' - leave it to the americans to make a buzz word out of a disaster. When I was here before, I was amazed that vendors were selling 'I was at Ground Zero' t-shirts. Today all of this has gone - in fact it is hard to find any sign of America's grief....no eternal flame, no flowers, no list of names of people who died. It appears that this tragedy,which reveals the vunerabilty and weakness of America has been swept under the carpet. The site itself resembles an everyday run of the mill building site.
The weather has been brilliant, hence after 2 hours of queing to see the Statue of Liberty I now resemble a panda...very attractive..going to find Mr right looking like this!
After taking in a broadway show (Gypsy) I get up early and catch my $1 bus to Boston.....what a bargain, the bus even has free internet....I love this decade!
Best sign I have seen so far.....'Veteran's Retirement Park' underneath 'State Dinosaur Park' - Do you think they are related?




Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb