New York New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
August 28th 2007
Published: February 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Here's me on top of the Empire State Building. New York was possibly one of my favourite places ever, only because it was unlike anything I've ever experienced. It's obviously what everyone says, in that for the mostpart people are quite rude and aggressive, but I think all extremes breed rebellion. And that was definitely the case in New York. One night my friend was in a bad mood and storming back to our hostel. As he was walking he felt a hand grabbing his shoulder. He spun round and it was a girl of about 25 who just said "It's okay, I'm your friend. And I just wanted to remind you that people love you. I love you." And then she walked away with her group of friends. It sounds cheesy, but I thought it was great. And if you asked anyone for help with something, they couldn't do enough for you. Finding my way to MOMA was one of the most interesting journeys I've ever made.
I also had the most cliched New York moment ever: I was wearing a dress and had big curly hair on this particular day, and inadvertently stood on the grate above a subway fan. So one minute I was standing there minding my own business and the next I was fighting to keep my dress from blowing right up and my hair was all over the place. In that moment I became Scotland's answer to Carrie Bradshaw (in that we are almost the same except I have ginger hair, cheap clothes and am no stranger to a sausage supper).



Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb