First Week in NY


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
May 23rd 2007
Published: May 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in NY on Monday 14th May extremely late at night, but was very excited to see Natalie. Her apartment is very New York and very Natalie. It is big and central to everything downtown.
New York is a very live city. Truly one of the big cities of the world.
In my first week I have done so much walking that I feel like my legs may fall off. My back is ready to pack it in, and the jerky cab rides are not helping the situation. The cabs in this city are a nightmare. I will be glad when I am back in Sydney and do not have to take another cab for quite a while. Natalie writes me notes in the morning and tells me where to meet her with directions that I must tell the taxi driver. It is sheer craziness. And for the millions of yellow taxis, I have now had two situations of not being able to get a taxi at all, and had my first experience with Natalie of getting what she refers to as a NY "ghetto" taxi. Ghetto taxis are unlicensed black cars that cruise the streets looking for desperate
My Birthday DinnerMy Birthday DinnerMy Birthday Dinner

Delicious desserts at Daniel Restaurant - in the top 20 restaurants worldwide.
people wanting to get home.
I have seen Ground Zero, the infamous Century 21 discount store (which I seem to have found my way to everyday), The Chrysler Building, Wall St, taken the Staten Island ferry, gone up the Empire State Building, walked the Brooklyn Bridge and had Grimaldi's pizza as a reward, and tasted my first Magnolia cupcake.
I also went to Baltimore for the weekend with my mate Paul White and his wife Maureen and their daughter Tracey who are holidaying over here. We went for the Preakness and mingled with so many Bad Bad Leroy Browns it was unbelievable. True to Ings form, I managed to sneak us all into the $225 seating for the main race. It was a great day.
After Preakness we hired a car and drove down to Sharpsburg to the civil war battlefields. Natalie had booked us into a B&B in Antietam which was run by a nice gay couple. They looked after us and cooked up a storm for our breakfast. Paul was a little concerned that I might get a knock at the door during the night, so I double locked it just to be safe.
One week down, about three weeks to go.........more instalments to come.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Inn at AntietamInn at Antietam
Inn at Antietam

Our B&B in Sharpsburg
Sunken RoadSunken Road
Sunken Road

Part of the battlefield at Antietam.
Chrysler BuildingChrysler Building
Chrysler Building

Taken from the top of the Empire State Building.


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb