Big Apple, Philly and Toronto once again..!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
January 16th 2007
Published: January 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Collingwood-TO-New York-Philly


New YorkNew YorkNew York

Picture of NYC - Manhattan and Brooklyn Bridge - coming back from Staten Island on the ferry (apparently my camera can also put borders around pics too!)
BIG APPLE, PHILLY and TORONTO ONCE AGAIN!

Ok, so I havent updated this for 2 weeks, so this might be a big post - but at the moment they are all big posts! I 've had a crazy couple of weeks to kick off 2007! Photos of everything up to date are now up (http://s143.photobucket.com/albums/r141/michty6/) and photos of this blogs events will follow soon...

So after Tom and Meags dropped me off in Toronto (after giving me some chocolate and a 'Canada' t-shirt as an early birthday present - thanks once again 😊 I planned on spending 'a few' nights catching up with everyone there - in the end I stayed a bit longer than that and found it very hard to leave!

I didnt really do any sights in TO this time round, mainly just caught up with all the people I had met before - a lot of whom were still at the hostel. They had been up to some crazy stuff since I had left, was great to hear all the stories (although didnt see Scottish Gareth sadly, as it turns out he is now banned from the hostel for some drunken antics...). Over the
Sing-a-longSing-a-longSing-a-long

Aussie Jonno and Si play some music as well chill out...
course of my time back I hung out with Aussies Jonno, Matt, Marcin, Scott, as well as Chris, Si, Madeleine, Maria, Melina, Duncan (had all his hair shaved off!), Aryen (crazy dutch man), Val, Aidan. There were also some new additions to the crew including Aussies Joel, Margaret, Reagan, Angie as well as Nicki (Si's sister), Maja and Steph (German girls, on the final leg of their journey). How's that for some name dropping!!

The first night there was New Years Day, we could only find one bar open, so Chris, Madeliene (who is now referred to as 'Madders') and I went out, ended up doing some whisky (is what people buy me when they find out Im Scottish!) with some randoms in the bar.

There were many crazy nights there as well as some chilled ones. We chilled out one night, several guitars appeared, so we ended up singing songs till the early hours of the morning - and Aussie Angie played a little set for us - turns out she is a acoustic singer and a very good one at that! I had plenty of Tim Hortons, seeing as how I was heading to the US
WomenWomenWomen

Some of the exotic women who can be found in Toronto...
where there would be none. I saw The Pursuit of Happyness with Maria - decent film, predictable but a decent 'feel good' movie I guess... The two of us also had a rickshaw ride home one night with her flatmate Mike, great fun! I also have played a LOT of Wizard! I think I have taught this game to a huge number of people already and Ive only had it for 2 weeks! I lost one game though so my undefeated steak comes to an end - although I only have the one loss!

On the more crazy side of things, we did a centurion, naturally, one night - which was nasty as Aussie Joel and I (the main participants) also threw in some shots of whisky... Very blurry night! I remember throwing a dirty rag at Marcin in the pub - he kept it afterwards promising payback (which he then did just before I left!) On another night, Aussie Jonno (who had been away and also come back, like me) brought back with him a fake set of breasts - so Chris declared that we should all dress up as girls and go out! I declined this idea,
Jacqueline Kennedy reservoirJacqueline Kennedy reservoirJacqueline Kennedy reservoir

No - not from a ferry but in Central Park in the middle of New York!
but Aussies Jonno, Joel as well as Chris decided to go the full whack with make up and their hair done dressed as girls to go out one night (Joel was wearing a sickenly short dress!). I was shocked that the bar actually let us in!!

I planned several times to leave for New York - but it kept being 'postponed'! My plan going to New York was to stay up the night before, so I could take the overnight bus the next day and sleep on the way there - twice in TO I stayed up the whole night and never made the bus! However, this meant I got the chance to catch up with Kate over a (much-needed) coffee - she spent most of December in Thailand so filled me in on what to expect when I get there (ping pong shows etc 😉 - although considering how warm she said it was when she was there I think I will die in the mid-July heat!
Eventually I left for New York, was sad to leave TO, Canada and everyone behind - at least Ill catch up with a lot of people along the road - in
Peebler's PointPeebler's PointPeebler's Point

My favourite spot in Central Park, the big buildings reflect off the water...
fact a huge group of the crew are heading to Vancouver soon! My plan to stay up and tire myself out for the bus almost back-fired as I fell asleep in the bus terminal and almost missed it! It also further back-fired when I got to New York and was not only tired from 1 but 2 nights of bad sleep (sleeping on the bus is a nightmare!)

Getting across the US border was unbelievably (and unexpectedly) easy - I was scared I would drop a sarcastic remark in answer to some of the silly questions they asked and be detained for a while! However, for me, getting into Canada was 10 times harder than the US. This is an example of one of the things Ive learned so far on my trip - never to take what people say as granted - just because some people have a bad experience or dont like something doesnt mean you wont - and I found this applies particularly to New York:

People say New York is expensive, you could die on the street and people would just walk past, unfriendly etc etc - I found most of these to be
Birthday A.M.Birthday A.M.Birthday A.M.

Drinking a Sam Adams in the early hours of (our) birthdays with Keith on left (birthday too) and Rob
false! New York is only expensive if you go to the wrong places - much like any city! I thought New Yorkers were really helpful, asking me if I looked lost, helping with directions etc etc. However, the hostel in New York was very strange - most people there were looking to do there own thing and not really that friendly - so I met fewer people here than elsewhere. But otherwise, my first proper experience of Americans in America has been great!

My first night I was shattered, so just walked around Times Square - I went out with a group who were in New York on an 'Alternative Spring Break' so were volunteering there for a week (no bars as they werent 21...). Times Square was amazing! But such a waste of electricity! I think that New York is the capital of advertising - you cant look anywhere without seeing and ad - Times Square is the perfect example of this! Nonetheless, I did think it was very cool. We also went to see the Rockefella Centre, which wasnt that impressive...However, outside some asked if I wanted to be on TV - sure why not! A group
Birthday P.M.Birthday P.M.Birthday P.M.

Drinks with Maja and Stephanie up high in Times Square
had pulled out from the crowd for the CBS (or CBA?) morning show, so they were looking for people. But it was 7am and although I set my alarm, getting up at 7am was difficult after two nights of no sleep - though I ended getting up at 9am to switch hostels so didnt get that much of a lie in anyway!

My favourite part of New York was Central Park - I spent nearly a whole day there chilling out on a nice day. The Jacqueline Kennedy reservoir was cool, with a great view of New York. My favourite was called Peebler's point, where I sat and chilled for a while - as you could hear the birds and feel the fresh(ish) air, as well as see horses and carts ride past it really didnt feel like you were in the biggest city in America. There was also literary walk, where I was surprised to see there was a statue of Rabbie Burns! (As well as Sir Walter Scott). There was also Shakespeare, except that they had put his name on the back of it, an Aussie tourist remarked this was because he's an 'Arrogant Bastard'! Lol!
Empire State BuildingEmpire State BuildingEmpire State Building

One of only a few pics from up the Empire State that actually turned out :( (I have a photo with Homer in it but it's blurred)

Late in the same evening some very random stuff happened! I was sitting in the hostel lounge when someone shouts 'Mich!' I look up and it's the two English guys - Robert and Keith - who I met in Mont Tremblant (I also randomly bumped into them in Montreal!). So we're sitting discussing how random it was bumping into each other and I suggested a drink as at midnight it was my birthday - turns out that it was also Keith's birthday the exact same day!!! So, despite it being late, we headed out to a bar nearby for a few beers. So I got the chance to sample my first taste of American beer... Well it turns out that they mainly drink Budweiser and Miller Lite here 😞 However, I sampled some Brooklyn Lager, which was actually quite good, as well as some Boston Lager. We sat and chatted in the pub, playing around with the jukebox... Then at 2am we thought we'd get 'last orders' in... 2 hours later we're wondering why the bar hasnt shut - turns out bars shut at 4am in the US!! Since all of us had come from Canada none of us knew
Homer and Miss LibertyHomer and Miss LibertyHomer and Miss Liberty

Homer mimicks the pose of Miss Liberty...
this!! But we did celebrate the exact time Keith was born (6.20 am in British time, so 1.20 am our time) - almost certainly the only time he has celebrated this with a beer in hand!! Oh and Rob and Keith also found it harder getting into Canada than the US 😊

So on my birthday I was a little hungover, for a change 😉 The original plan was to hire a limo for a couple of hours and drive round NY (Keith and Rob were also up for this) - Maria and Milena (from TO) were due to join us, coming from New York to visit two guys who they are dating - so there would be 7 us sharing the limo costs... I had come up with this idea when Maria asked in TO what I was doing for my birthday in NY and I said something like 'Ill probably be taken around in a limo while they have a procession in my honour...' so then I thought wait a minute a limo isnt such a bad idea! However, I couldnt get a limo for a good price at late notice, so that plan failed!

I
Rocky PoseRocky PoseRocky Pose

At the top of the 'Rocky Steps' having just ran up!
was due to meet Maria and Milena but it fell through - luckily I hadnt ordered the limo after all! But I did meet up with Maja and Stephanie, some other German girls from TO (who agreed that hostels in New York arent as friendly), hitting a few Irish bars around Times Square (NOT expensive at all!). We then went up the Mariott Marquis, which has a bar 8 floors up overlooking Times Square - which I loved! Rob and Keith joined us there, where we ate and drank (drinks quite expensive but food - $12 for a great pizza - cant complain!)... The girls left, so Keith, Rob and I ended up in Greenwich Village for some live music. We ended up in a place I think was called the Red Lion, with a really good band who were playing cover songs but in a funny way, interacting with the crowd, for example flashing a torch on people and commenting on their dancing! After them was an acoustic guy who brought out a gigantic folder of music and was willing to play any artist we wanted as long as he had them... I didnt turn up this chance, I
Liberty BellLiberty BellLiberty Bell

Homer and I at the Liberty Bell in Philly
got him to play band after band, some great music and even persuaded him to play the Proclaimers at one point!! Was a good birthday night 😊

I eventually met up with Maria and Milena, the plan was to show them the Mariott bar (hopefully they would get served as they werent 21!). On the way up in the lift in the Mariott we met some Korean guy called Tyler who invited us to his work party, on the 6th floor, where there was an open free drinks (I would like to say that he was interested in my great banter and funny stories, but I think the girls were the only reason we got invited along!). After there we went out for a drink with some of the guys from his work... Maria and Milena got ID'd so they couldnt have one, but they also had to go back to their boyfriends, as they told them they were meeting me for an hour and it had already been 3! Tyler had invited us to a fancy bar, so I decided to go along and join that lot for a few drinks (Tyler also insisted on paying for every drink as he was 'very rich and could afford it' - quite good when bottles of beer are $8!!). I hung around with them for a couple of hours, eventually getting bored of being asked 'where are the German girls' so I called it a night...

I still managed to do a lot of sights in New York as well. I went up the Empire State in the evening, my second Modern Wonder of the World so far, as I was too late for my usual dusk visit to such places... Keith and Rob had recommended the audio guide, which they thought was funny as it was given by 'Tony the Cabbie from New York' However, I found it vaguely interesting and not funny at all... The view up the ES was amazing though, the only way to really appreciate how vast New York is. It is funny though that there are so many huge buildings in New York that the ES doesnt stand out that much, nothing like the CN Tower in TO for example. Did learn, however, how obsessed with huge buildings New York is, in particular holding the tallest buildling in the world title - which I think the Freedom Tower will hold when it is constructed. But was annoyed that a lot of my photos didnt turn out as it was really windy up the top 😞

I had a walk around Wall St, saw the NYSE (not open to public) before heading to Ground Zero. Very sombre atmosphere there, with a photo timeline of the events of 9/11 - very sad. Learned they are going to build a 'Freedom Tower' which will have shapes of the original towers incorporated into it, but stand much taller than those buildings... I then walked down the waterfront, where there was lots of street artists dressed up as the statue of Liberty! I decided to take the free ferry over to Staten Island as it goes past the statue....and is free! Great view of the city from the ferry, although I wasnt that impressed with Miss Liberty (who I think should be brought up to modern times by changing her name to 'Miss Liberty (unless she's a suspected terrorist)'.) It was funny on Staten Island when almost the entire ferry got off, walked along the pier and jumped on the next ferry waiting to head back!

I walked up to Pier 17 and chilled out underneath the Brooklyn Bridge - which I wasnt that impressed with, I liked the next bridge along, the Manhattan Bridge I think, better (although I have been told that walking along the Brooklyn Bridge is the best way to appreciate it...) I also went to see the New York Public Library and Madison Cube Garden.

After New York, I headed out to Philadelphia where I have family - Isla, who stays just outside Philly with her partner Richard. I spent a day with them being shown around Philly (which Isla wasnt particularly happy at, as she had the wrong shoes for this occasion!) Philly is a lot bigger than I thought it would be, later found out it's the 5th biggest city in the US, used to be the 4th before Houston over took it. Philly is where the declaration of Independence was signed, and used to be the home of the first Congress and Capital of America until 1800. It was really interesting to learn about American history - something I only ever had vague notions of - and about people whose names I had heard of but did not know what exactly there role in American History was - Hancock, Jefferson, Washington, Franklin etc...Also the Declaration of Independence is not what I thought it was - it is in reality more a declaration of war than anything of constitutional significance... We saw a little video about it, and also went to see the Liberty Bell - a symbol of the fight for Liberty both for and within America over the years (however, this is one of those museums which provides a lot unnecessary info about the bell too - how much it weighs, how many coats of paint it's had etc etc!).

The funny thing is that this kind of makes Philly a one-horse town - these sites are really busy and all the streets and buildings are Liberty St or Jefferson University etc - very funny! This also means the attractions about this are quite busy, even in January - we planned to head to the hall where the Declaration of Independence was signed, but there was a decent sized queue, so we decided to move on - I tried to get a photo alongside the statue of Washington reading the declaration outside this building, but a power-mad cop wouldnt let me get close enough...

We had a nice lunch, where I had a cheese steak sandwich - the specialty of Philly! Then we walked around town, the City Hall is a huge, beautiful building but was sadly closed for renovation. We walked down towards the Art Museum, where there was a row of flags, including Scotland, but no England flag to Richards annoyance (obviously they only wanted cool countries up there 😉 The Art Museum is where the famous 'Rocky Steps' are! So of course, I had to run up them. Richard and Isla went up to film me coming up, but it didnt work - I have a good photo, though, of me in Rocky's pose at the top of the steps (I had also put on my hat and gloves just like Rocky is wearing in the film!)... There is also a Rocky statue right beside the museum. One thing I didnt know though was how nice the view of Philly is, looking back into town from the Art Museum.

We had a drink at Richard's favourite pub, I tried Yuengling - which someone had recommended - and I thought it was quite good for an American beer...I had also forgotten this was playoffs weekend, so we watched some American Football on TV! In fact, that night the Philadelphia Eagles were playing in a Playoff match, against the New Orleans Saints. So we went out to Richard and Isla's local to watch the game alongside some Philly fans! Was quite a good atmosphere, great to be watching NFL footie alongside some home fans for the first time ever - the only shame being that Philly lost (although they were definitely the second best team...) I did enjoy a fair few Sam Adam's lagers though!

After all the rushes of the past week, had a nice relaxing Sunday with Isla and Richard (as well as a lie in!). On the way to the bus station we stopped for a Wawa, a place which does custom made sandwiches - and the sandwich I had (on the bus) was awesome!

Anywho, Im now in Washington DC staying in a very nice hostel, will be here for 5 nights before I head off to Little Rock, Arkansas to visit my friend Zoe.

Thanks to Isla and Richard for having me, for good times, good beers and good food! And also thanks to everyone for all the birthday messages and wishes!

Wow this is the longest one yet, come on!

Mich

Advertisement



21st January 2007

Cheers from Inverurie
Enjoyed reading your Blog.Have enrolled you in AA for when you return.Great to know you're having a good time.Lots of Love xXx

Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.103s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb