My time in New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
October 1st 2005
Published: January 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So my first travleing adventure after college (not that college wasn’t an adventure on it's own) was New York City! I had a 6 month scholarship with the American Foundation for the Blind working in their Communication Department. The job was only a small part my time there, the best memories come from the friends I made. I lived in the Menno House (it was first started by Mennonites, and is affordable housing for students, volunteers and such), though I'm not Mennonite and not everyone living there was.

It was a rough start, most of my roommates didn't like me, but don't worry I soon grew on them, and now they love me! I had friends and family come visit me in the Big Apple, and did touristy stuff with them. My favorite times were doing the none touristy things, like going to Joe Jr Dinner for some late night coffee, checking out the vintage shops in the East Village, reading magazines and drinking coffee in Borders Books, chillen watching TV with my roomies and just walking around the city taking in the amazing vibe of the city.

6 months went to fast, and it all came to end,
Girls Night OutGirls Night OutGirls Night Out

Me, Elizebath and Amanda going out on the town!
and I went back home with new friends and an experience of a life time.

I love NY and hope to make it back to "the city that never sleeps".



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Smile :)Smile :)
Smile :)

Me and Denise looking good :)
Sight Seeing with my CuzSight Seeing with my Cuz
Sight Seeing with my Cuz

Danillie and I braved the cold New York winter to see the sights.
Pigging out!Pigging out!
Pigging out!

Having some dessert at the famous Serendipity 3. It is a must, the Forbidden Broadway sundae is very yummy :)
The Girls all dressed upThe Girls all dressed up
The Girls all dressed up

Halloween party at the Menno House.
New Years 2006!New Years 2006!
New Years 2006!

Me, Tahnee and Sylvie cheers to 2006!
A walk in the parkA walk in the park
A walk in the park

Walking in Central Park with Denise and Barrie.
Cheers!Cheers!
Cheers!

Out for Denise's Birthday. Me David and Barrie.
Blue GumBlue Gum
Blue Gum

Blowing some bubbles with Denise.
My goodbye dinnerMy goodbye dinner
My goodbye dinner

Eating my goodbye dinner, a sad night but yummy food!


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb