The Final Pack


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Monroe
April 12th 2011
Published: April 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The Final PackThe Final PackThe Final Pack

Bags are packed
After 2 years of dreaming and months of planning, I am finally ready to embark on my year-long adventure through Central and South America. My bags are packed (well, mostly) and my flight leaves tomorrow morning at the ripe hour of 6:45am.

Where am I going? What am I doing?
I have a 1-way flight to Guatemala City (-2hr time difference from EST) where I will be picked up by the wonderful folks at the Tecun Uman Spanish school and taken to the city of Antigua. There I will be living with a local family and taking 1-on-1 Spanish lessons for a week weeks. Once I feel like I have some decent Spanish under my belt I will hit the road with my backpack.

The Goal?
Travel to all 21 countries in Central and South America over the next year.

Am I crazy?
Possibly.

Why?
Because I have the bug. The travel bug. If not now, when? There's no time like the present.

What am I taking with me?
In a word, a backpack. In a few more words:
9 pairs of socks/underwear
5 t-shirts
2 button-up short sleeved collared shirts
3 pairs of pants (1 jeans, 1 zip offs, 1 lounging workout pants)
2 pairs of shorts
1 hoodie
1 pair of sneakers
1 pair of Chaco sandals
Toiletries (the essentials + bug spray, lotion, sun screen)
Electronics (camera, flip, external hard drive, ipod touch)
A gift for my homestay (a mini statue of liberty and 2 NY mugs)
2 guidebooks
Sunglasses, umbrella, money belt

All in all about 45lbs of luggage (1 large backpack + 1 small daypack)

How to stay in touch with me?
Email: David.Wodka@gmail.com
Skype: David.Wodka
Twitter: @Dwodka
Subscribe to the blog (this means you'll get an email when there's a new post)


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb