Shore Break!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Long Island
July 26th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Umbrella by the SeaUmbrella by the SeaUmbrella by the Sea

A perfect spot for a gap between two years living in Japan
And a happy summer vacation to all and to all a good night.

I am on my summer vacation right now. How anyone does without one I do not know. It is a great time to free your mind or turn it off and give it some much needed rest. You can do whatever you want. Last weekend I attended a friend's wedding in Manhattan. The reception was in Central Park. I saw the most beautiful scene I had ever seen in my life. The sun set over a man made lake. The pinks and greens were so vivid. It was like I was standing in the middle of a painting the leaves were practically dripping acrylic. If only I had brought my camera!

My first year in Japan was a huge success. It exceeded my expectations tenfold. Unfortunately, I kind of sucked with the blog this year. Even though I was living in an endless fascinating place I wasn't able to blog the way I wanted to. I always seem to be busy in Sapporo. I always get the feeling like I am missing something and should be doing something else. This lessoned as the year went on,
TuxedoTuxedoTuxedo

Tommy No Papers was out in style in NYC
but its effects still linger. Plus Sapporo is such a small community that I never wanted to write about anybody that might get back to them or me. Plus all my entries seemed to be about Japanese girls and my current thoughts on them. This probably says something about my mindset that can only be recognized back home.

Anyway I will be back in Sapporo on August 7th. I am excited yet relaxed about my impending return to Japan. I will try to be more faithful with my blogs. This year I will write what I want and not worry about boring the masses. They will probably be shorter, but will always include at least one picture. But remember, when you are living in a place your daily activities will always inevitably be the same. Got up, went to work, got something to eat, came home, took a nap, went out, came home and went to sleep. So consider yourself warned. Goodnight from the Hamptons.


Book Recommendation: The Art of Travel by Alain de Botton
It may be a tad highbrow, but has some very insightful insights as to how and why to travel. A must pick-up for any junior Travel blogger.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb