Upstate New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Buffalo
August 10th 2008
Published: August 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today we all left Buffalo and parted separate ways. David and Gwen took the Masts and Kimberly to the airport, and I hit the road due east. I wasn’t able to arrange a place to stay tonight, so I am just heading east and I will stop when I have had enough riding for the day. I think I will end up somewhere near Albany, NY tonight. Who knows, if I am having enough I might head toward Vermont to hit the twisty roads. If anything I will hit the twisties tomorrow!

Today has been fairly uneventful. Same-old-same-old ride, stop, ride, stop, gas up, let the soar butt rest, get some fresh air, grab a coffee, soak up the scenery, etc. But this last week I had an amazing time with everyone. It was great to see Kyle again and catch up, and get each other pumped up for Phoenix this fall and winter. It sounds like it is going to be a pretty good time down there.

Last night we went to Kyle’s grandparent’s house for dinner and a campfire. We had an amazing meal cooked for all of us by his grandma! We had turkey, gravy, mashed potatoes, homemade pickled beets (I think that is what they were, but they were definitely red beets), corn, green beans, homemade bread, homemade pickles, and pineapple upside down cake. There’s nothing like some good Mennonite cookin’ right there! After dinner we (by we I mean Kyle) started the fire. I had the privilege of splitting wood for the first time in my life. We also watched most of the opening ceremony of the summer 2008 Olympics. It was a pretty laid back night, but a lot of fun just sitting around.

Well my lunch/coffee break/stretch break is about over, so off I go again…


Advertisement



15th August 2008

i love hearing about all of your adventures, mikey! i'm glad you're getting this opportunity. oh, and thanks for sending that postcarded! :)

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb