Land of Thundering Water


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Buffalo
March 28th 2008
Published: March 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

USA Roadtrip


This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Niagara Falls 8 secs
So I am sure many of you are getting an e-mail stating that I have updated my travel blog and are like wtf? I am sure some of you don't even know what wtf even means. Let me take a moment and welcome you all back. I hope you enjoy reading what I have have to say. Here I am on the road again, and after a couple days, truly enjoying myself.

Initially my plan was to go to Florida for Wrestlemania with some friends. That didn't work out and I had some Wrestlemania tickets with no one to go with me. I could have sold the tickets and just stayed home and worked. Show of hands, how many people would have done that. If my European trip taught me anything, it taught me that I would no longer do what others expect of me. I will only do what what I intend to do. For those that have yet to figure it out, I intend to see the world. The Wrestlemania tickets were a perfect excuse for me to get away.

I had no plan. I did some minor research. Ultimately, I had no idea where I was headed or what I was doing. I wasn't even convinced I was going to Wrestlemania. I wasn't even sure I was going until I was on the road. The only thing I had in my mind was something I said a few blogs back. That I wanted too see all 50 states by the time I was 50. One of the closest state that I hadn't been was Ohio. I also figured heck, I have never been to Niagara Falls. So "Go west young man."

This trip was setting up to be a hectic jaunt through a bunch of states I hadn't seen. Drive to a place, see a sight, get back on the road. That was until I got to about Albany, rocking out to the Spice Girls (Ipods are great) when I realized I forgot the Wrestlemania tickets. This would have been a disaster for some people, but for me, it was a blessing. Now I could take my time, go wherever the road would take me, and not have any time constarints holing me back...

So now to the land of Thundering Water. That is what the Native Americans called the area around Niagara Falls. It is an interesting story. Check it out for yourself sometime. Niagara Falls in the early springtime is still a pretty cold place. I am betting the temperature around the falls is about 5 degrees colder then the rest of the area. Add to that the wind and blowing spray from the falls and you have cold! A good thing about visiting the falls at this time of year is that there is very few visitors and everything that normally costs money is free! Of course many activities are not open but that is ok with me. The actual thrill of the moment was seeing the falls and learning some of the history of it.

So while in Buffalo, I needed to find something else to do to help fill up my time. What else is there to do in Buffalo? What does Buffalo have that I would want to experience? Hmm...Perhaps something spicy and delicious. That is right, I went to the birthplace of one of my favorite foods, Buffalo Wings. Guess what they tasted like? Buffalo Wings. Yeah, the hype didn't quite match the actual product. They were good, don't get me wrong. But, they were just buffalo wings. I guess I was expecting something different. I can also say I ate the original Buffalo Wings at The Anchor Bar.

Here are a few photos for you to enjoy. Next stop...The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb