California Love


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Buffalo
August 6th 2007
Published: August 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We were SO excited to be heading back to California today. Susan missed Brett, I just needed to sleep before setting up my classroom, and we were both sick of the humidity.

We had a nice sleep in until 8:30 since we were right across from the airport. The free breakfast was great with yogurt and cinnamon buns without raisins, and I loved the rain shower.

Car rental return at the airport was super fast, gas was only $2.97 a gallon! The security line was long, but we got through easily. I have flown six times this summer, and I have the gig DOWN.

We weren't sitting together on either leg (Buffalo-Atlanta, Atlanta-San Jose).

In Atlanta we found some very funny art, including a plane made of corn. Or corn shaped like a plan. The lima bean revolving on the carrot was my favorite. There was also an awesome salad place in one of the terminals (?E for Echo?) called Natural Earth Bistro or something like that. We ate quiche and salad to the lovely piano tunes played live in the terminal. The South is a strange place.

I tried to process the past five days, but was just overwhelmed. It was really different going to the conference with a buddy, and actually focusing on the WRock instead of the academics. I met a lot of cool people, and maybe I will get to see them next year!

I totally want to go to the WRock Spooktactular outside St.Louis around Halloween, but I think my Substitute Teacher Request Form is going to be laughed right back into my mailbox.

But I embrace my Nerd Niche!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb