One more Bosque update


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico
November 19th 2008
Published: November 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sandhill CraneSandhill CraneSandhill Crane

This was taken soon after sunrise.
Had another fun day and learned a lot. I shot these images HAND HELD with my 500 mm lens! For most of you that may mean nothing. But the lens alone weighs 8.5 pounds. Add the weight of the camera body and I'm holding somewhere around 10 pounds and a lens sticking out about 2 feet with the lens shade attached.

Normally I use a tripod and Wimberley Head for all my telephoto images. But one of the instructors specializes in hand holding long telephoto lenses. So I decided to give it a try.

Actually I wound up with fewer frames with half a bird in it (or blue sky with no bird) than when I use my tripod.

At any rate I was pleased to discover I can capture sharp images while handholding in good light.

I also sat up my camera to do focusing a different way. Been wanting to try that for months and finally got some help in how to set it up and techniques to make it work well.

Also picked up some good PhotoShop pointers.

Here are just a couple of images from today - all hand held.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Sandhill Crane 2Sandhill Crane 2
Sandhill Crane 2

Another early morning shot with great light.
Snow GeeseSnow Geese
Snow Geese

I haven't been in the right place at the right time to capture thousands of Snow Geese blasting off. A good number took off from a field and I captured them off in the distance.
Afternoon landingAfternoon landing
Afternoon landing

This is a Sandhill Crane coming in for a landing just before the sun dropped behind the mountain.


Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0996s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb