Antonito, Co to Grants, NM


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico
October 1st 2007
Published: October 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Shadiest Campsite of the JourneyShadiest Campsite of the JourneyShadiest Campsite of the Journey

Behind a hotel in Antonito, CO...Awoke to the tourist train at 6:00AM..
By far the shadiest campsite of the trip...Got stuck no where near National Forest Lands and the hotel owner let me duck behind his sold out motel for free. McGyver (sp) had his pocket knife on him all night long just in case!

Big day of riding...Some intense but just making miles to the south trying to warm up and get to the desert! Got poured on for two hours across the Indian Reservation.

For the first 30 minutes I stay dry once it starts raining. The next 30 minutes I get damp. The next 30 I get wet and then the final 30 minutes, I am freezing and looking for a hot, cheap, shower.

How about that dead bear and the bear dawgs!!! Reminded me of ole Maine!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Bear in Northern New MexicoBear in Northern New Mexico
Bear in Northern New Mexico

Killed near El Rito...Town smaller than Chester this was at the Gas Pump in front of me...


Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0741s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb