Elk City Oklahoma to Santa Fe New Mexico - 422 miles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Santa Fe
April 28th 2016
Published: April 29th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Today was mainly a slog along I40 to meet Rob. In fact all but the last 60 miles were on I40. The first 300 miles or so were flat and barren even at this time of the year. Occasional wind gusts up to 20 miles and hour kept me on my toes, well gripping the handlebars at least. Not much use of cruise control and one handed riding. I was amazed at the wind farms as I crossed from Oklahoma into Texas. Having always associated Texas with oil it seemed ironic to me - donkey wells replaced by windmills. 9% of power in Texas comes from wind - more than any other state - go Texas! The highlight was a visit to Russell's Car Museum at exit 369 of I40 in New Mexico. Excellent Ruben sandwich and a free museum worth seeing. Apparently the Russell's are/were a wealthy family where the hubby loved to collect stuff. Finally his wife and neighbors said enough and he moved the stuff to the museum. Bit of a Marylyn Monroe fetish, but otherwise worth the visit. Pressing on I would see occasional the remnants of Route 66 come close to I40. Usually a memorabilia store at such points - any chance to make a buck. Made it to Santa Fe around 6pm with Rob waiting outside the hotel. It was great to see him after 2100 miles of great riding and no rain! I suspect that is about to change.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0803s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb