A Road Trip to Santa Fe and Back.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Santa Fe
November 16th 2011
Published: November 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Santa Fe Road Trip


It takes a little effort to see the landscape change around here but after about 3 hours driving hills started to rise up out of the flat land. We knew we were onto something when we encountered more that a just a kink in the road, a bend and then an up hill!!!

Brendan, Michelle, Dan, Aaron and I decided that we need a change of scenery so off to Santa Fe we went. What a beautiful city, full of jewellery shops, art galleries, museums, churches and the likes and that was just around the central plaza. First things first though we got a REAL COFFEE! The we cruised around looking at all the different jewellery stalls. Found my mum's christmas present then attended to the second most important task of the day, a beer for the boys. That was when we found a micro brewery.

What could happen when it's really cold outdoors, the folks what a beer and a place to sit down? Well as luck would have it we found a live jazz bar with REALLY NICE WHISKY! As if that wasn't enough, in walked four beautiful women and sat down at the next table. They were trying to take a team photo on a phone and the pain of watching was too much so what was a man to do so I offerred to take their photo for them. What an ice breaker (never thought my camera could be used in such a way). Well I now have four more friends on Facebooks, Nicole (what a honey! eyes to die for and a smile that was intoxicating), Emily her sister ( just as beautiful), Jeri their mum ( you could see where they got their looks from) and Jill, Jeri's sister ( I think the looks are a family thing). Wonderful people. I must get over my nervousness sooner so I can talk to people ike this more often. If I had had the courage I would loved to have asked them to dance but alas not this time.

I was captivated by the architecture so I found a book in the Museum bookshop that showed homes of the area, their floor plans and much more. One day when I build my own home on my piece of sloping land with a view I want to incororate some of these features into the layout.

The trip home lead us into moutain valley passes (8,700ft), snow, freezing cold winds, the Vietnam War Memorial Monument, The bridge over the Rio Grande and to Eagle Nest (it's called that 'cos it's up really hi ok). Some beautiful scenery as the snow fell. Then as it got dark we passed deer on the side of the road and settled in for the 3 1/2 drive back to Dalhart.

What a great weekend.

So where are we going this coming weekend? Who knows but one things is for sure another adventure awaits.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

My travelling BuddiesMy travelling Buddies
My travelling Buddies

Aaron, Dan, Michelle & Brendan


18th November 2011

Roadtrip
Hi Nigel, Yes it is a great trip. We did it last year. I guess it was abit late for the autumn colours. The mountain scenery is something to see and the trees etc that grow at those altitudes.Take care and dont get frostbite

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb