Santa Fe


Advertisement
Published: May 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Plaza, Santa FePlaza, Santa FePlaza, Santa Fe

Artists selling their creations under the portico outside the Palace of Governors

Untitled
Lyn C
“Here the whistle blowing, All Aboard for Californiay on the Atcheson, Topeka and the Santa Fe“. Sang that over and over. On my way to Santa Fe, NM. Know I’m showing my age!

I arrived in Santa Fe after a six hour drive from Deming, I enjoyed the drive which was mainly on Interstate 25. I had reserved a spot in Trailer Inn RV Resort, an older RV park with lots of trees (eeek) but they sent a guide with me and he very expertly backed me into a spot. What a difference from the past week’s peace and quiet -- I’m on a historic Route 66 and I can see a Harley Davidson dealership out of my bedroom window! Still it’s convenient and the city bus that will take me right down into the historic city center stops right outside the park.

So early on Monday, May 28th I set off with my “fanny pack” in place singing “Get your kicks on Route 66.” Pleasantly surprised, a day pass on the bus was just a dollar, There is a lot of history in Santa Fe; too much for the one day I had allowed and I have
Basilica Basilica Basilica

The Basilica Cathedral of St. Francis of Assisi
only included here what I actually saw and experienced.

There is evidence that nomadic Paleo Indians first inhabited the region around 10000-9000 BC. The first Spanish expedition into New Mexico was around 1540 and the first Spanish settlers came from Mexico to northern New Mexico around 1598, Europeans only arrived around 1821 and New Mexico became the 47th American state in 1912. The Plaza has been the heart of Santa Fe since 1610 and it’s heart, the Palace of the Governors is the oldest public building in the U.S. Today this building is a wonderful museum that I thoroughly enjoyed; and this is where the Indian artists display their jewellery and pottery for sale under the portico. Only handmade articles can be offered for sale and the seller has to prove that he/she is the artist; they usually initial their work. Needless to say the merchandise is really beautiful, a lot or turquoise, coral, opal and especially silver. It is an honor to be allocated a space and the area they occupy is on a one day only basis allocated by a lottery drawing early in the morning of the sale. Any artist not lucky enough to “win” the
Blessed Katen TekakwithaBlessed Katen TekakwithaBlessed Katen Tekakwitha

Spirit of kindness, forgiveness, love compassion and joyful peace. This statue is in the grounds of the cathedral
lottery simply sets up around the Plaza, or close by. The artists under the portico have the advantage of making their sales tax-free. I spent more than three hours browsing the museum and all of the displayed jewellery and pottery sales. Needless to say I wasn’t going to leave Santa Fe without purchasing some turquoise!

I moved on from the Plaza to the Cathedral Basilica of Saint Francis of Assisi, (circa 1886.) Built in Romanesque style, the cathedral walls were built around the Adobe walls of the parish church which was in use. When completed, the church walls were taken out. I was awestruck. There are two chapels inside. The “La Conquistadora” chapel was beyond words; the statue was first brought to Santa Fe in 1625 and has been removed and returned depending on impending danger. I lit candles here for Wal and my parents.

I walked and walked, a lot of galleries, the museum and the Basilica and ran out of time. I may have to come back one day.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Around the PlazaAround the Plaza
Around the Plaza

This is a very busy place, lots of the artists that didn't get to set up their wares under the portico set up around here as well as food vendors.


Tot: 0.205s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 77; dbt: 0.0792s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb