UFO Central


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Roswell
November 12th 2007
Published: November 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

UFO museum UFO museum UFO museum

Here is a shot from outside the museum.
Hello from UFO central.

I had a fun and laid back day today here in Roswell. It started off earlier than I planned when strange noises were all around the RV about 5:20. Oh wait; it was just the city trash truck coming through more than an hour BEFORE sunrise picking up the trash!!!

So I was up plenty early, had breakfast and did some housekeeping (vacuuming, mopping, and dishes) before the office opened. I went and checked in and headed into town.

The UFO museum was interesting and informative. It’s been fun seeing how Roswell has turned the town into a tourist attraction with the now famous “Roswell Incident”. Lots of tourist trap shops downtown, too.

I also went to the Roswell Museum & Art Center. The most interesting part of that for me was the section devoted to Dr. Robert Goddard - the father of US rocketry. They have a display of his workshop in the museum. One of the interesting things I read talked about the fuel he used in his first liquid fuel rocket launch in Auburn, MA during 1925. He used Texaco gasoline and liquefied oxygen. Given I grew up pumping Texaco
Alien Street LightsAlien Street LightsAlien Street Lights

Notice the street lights. They all have alien eyes on them!
gas at my Dad’s station; I found that bit of trivia fun.

After coming back to the RV for lunch, I went to the Historical Center for Southeast New Mexico. It is a prairie style house that has artifacts and antiques from the turn of the last century.

Then I went to Wally World for some supplies and back to the RV. Since I made it back before dark (sunset is around 5 pm here in the far eastern part of MST) I hooked up the Jeep and then had dinner. Now I’m doing some laundry. Whoo hoo what a fun day! But I have to get used to some days doing mundane things like cleaning the RV and doing laundry when I want to be an extended RVer.

Hope to get a relatively early start tomorrow. It’s not a long drive to Socorro. I’m tentatively planning to take a slight detour down through Ruidoso. Several folks from that area told me the fall color is beautiful along that drive. Been watching the weather and haven’t heard of any snow forecast for my “route of flight” tomorrow. I’m beginning to think it was wishful thinking on the
Alien spaceshipAlien spaceshipAlien spaceship

One of the several encounters I had today with UFOs!
part of the guy who told me that.

Now quickly for my UFO theory. It’s not a unique idea, but also isn’t one that I’ve really heard much about. Some folks mentioned it in passing yesterday and I pondered on it.

Think back to the history of this area. On July 16th, 1945 about 100 miles west of here the first nuclear device was detonated at what is known as the “Trinity Site”. Now according to documentation of the Roswell Incident, July 1947 is when the UFO crashed NW of Roswell. My theory is - IF (keep in mind I have NO idea if there are UFOs or if we have been visited by life forms from beyond earth) there was an alien spacecraft that crashed; they came to investigate the nuclear detonation. How’s that for a view on the Roswell Incident?

Since my Verizon modem is dial up here, I’m going to walk over near the office and see if I can get a higher wi-fi connection with the campground service and upload this and a few photos.

Hope you’ve had some fun chuckling with my “on the scene” report from alien central!

Bruce
Inside the museumInside the museumInside the museum

Here's a shot from inside the museum.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

McDonald'sMcDonald's
McDonald's

Even the McDonald's has an alien theme!
Why Gas Prices are so HighWhy Gas Prices are so High
Why Gas Prices are so High

Here was my 2nd sighting today. I finally figured out why our gas prices are so high. The aliens are attacking petroleum buildings and facilities and they use a LOT of fuel. As you can see, this spaceship narrowly missed the Petroleum Building in Roswell!!!
Goddard workshopGoddard workshop
Goddard workshop

View of the Goddard workshop in the Roswell Museum.


Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1079s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb