Visiting Raton


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Raton
July 17th 2008
Published: July 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Piper and I have been hanging out at the hotel taking advantage of the indoor pool. Mark is with his buddies (Gary, Michael, Jorma, and Nick) at the NRA Whittington Center taking a 3 day course in the Barrett 50 cal Rifle.

Piper and I decide to venture into Raton for lunch and find the Sweet Shop. In business since 1923, it is currently owned by Mike J. Pappas. His father opened the Sweet Shop in 1923. In the gift shop I see a book entitled, "Raton - History, Mystery and More." I enjoy the bits I read standing there and decide to purchase the book. It is written by Mike J. Pappas. When I pay for the book the clerk asks me if I would like the author to sign it. Turns out, Mr. Pappas is there at the restaurant and comes over to speak with me and Piper. He's really nice and writes a dedication on the flyleaf: "To Piper - Welcome to the 'West'. Enjoy some of Raton's history. Best Wishes." Piper goes back to the hotel really excited about her "treasure". The trip has just become a bit more special. I finish the book that afternoon and she has it read by that evening. We spend dinner dropping interesting Raton facts to Mark over dinner.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Long Gun RangeLong Gun Range
Long Gun Range

Standing at the firing line looking out to the targets. The targets stand over 10 ft. tall and you can hardly see them.


Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb