Colorado to Santa Fe


Advertisement
Published: July 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Spent the night in the Tourist Information parking lot last night. Quiet. Don't know if it was legal but there was no one to ask and no one bothered us. Toured Downtown Santa Fe for about thee hours and then headed to Albuquerque.

Santa Fe is really nice. If I were rich or if I had not put a stop to buying jewelrey I would be in big trouble. The Georgia O'Keefe Museum was great. She was a wierd duck.
Couldn't take pix in there. The Stairway in the Loretto Chapel is beautiful. I'm sure you all know the story. The nuns who ran the chapel needed a stairway that would not block the choir loft but could find no one who could come up with a suitable plan. They decided to make a 9 day novena and on the ninth day a carpenter walked in with the most basic tools and built a sprial staircase with no center support. He left as soon as he finished. Engineers are still trying to figure out how it still stands. Between Santa Fe and Albuquerque there are so much old neon that it is hard to catch it all and driving through Albuquerque is no picnic. You can't really stop and take pictures and we were not in the mood to walk the miles of old stuff. I got what I could.

We are stopped tonight at a campground just the other side of Albuquerque and hope to get an early start tomorrow and get into Arizona by the end of the day.

Adios


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



13th July 2010

I'm quite sure I saw the Lifetime Original Movie about that staircase. It featured nuns, after all...
13th July 2010

Beautiful! I want that staircase in my house!
14th July 2010

Albuquerque
Always liked Albuquerque & there is (was--it's been a long time since I've been thru there) a really good Mexican restaurant across from the railroad tracks in Gallup--actually, now that I think of it, EVERYTHING is (was) across from the tracks in Gallup. Love ya. Hope you're havin' a great time!
14th July 2010

Miraculus Stairway
I think I saw it too. I believe it starred William Peterson.
14th July 2010

Through Santa Fe!
Great pics - glad you enjoyed your short stay in Santa Fe - you hit many of the high spots! - Frank. Frank O'Mahony Evolve Santa Fe Real Estate www.EvolveSantaFe.com

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0836s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb