The Land of the Neverending Story


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Albuquerque
November 24th 2008
Published: November 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

CanyonCanyonCanyon

Maybe it's time I pitch a tent.
That's what it looks like out here. Serene, peaceful, beautiful, and full of culture.

Farmington, New Mexico - something about it was interesting and way too many Navajo-ians were abundant. I think that walking into the Wal-Mart, Ash and I were the minorities. What are Asians and African-Americans out there?? Yes, we were only in Wal-Mart for water and powerade. Farmington proved to have great Mexican food and cool Aztec Ruins. Onto the Canyon!

We went first through Monument Valley, which is where all the cool scenes in Star Wars (the first one remade) was filmed, or based off of so I thought. Fairly interesting, and we ventured onto sacred Navajo land where my total non-rednecky Honda Civic went offroading. When the guide tells you to be careful about snakes/spiders/scorpions and your compact car isn't taking well to 10 mph bumpy-arse roads, might be a sign to get an SUV 😊 Monument Valley was awesome, and I definitely found what I was looking for - after I had to pee so bad that I stopped on the side of the road. Girls, you know how desperate I must have been had I done this.

I have to say
Canyon2Canyon2Canyon2

Don't worry, I have life insurance.
that on the way to the Grand Canyon, we also saw some donkeys. Take a look at my photo - why did the donkeys cross the road?

The Grand Canyon. My first impression? I think I nearly crapped myself. It was pretty damned grand. We walked along the gray-haired oldie trail there with Bear and he loved every minute of it. I think that fearless dog would have gone down the cliffs of the Canyon had we not pulled him back. We enjoyed it, but damn is it cold! We're staying right outside the Canyon tonight and going back tomorrow. Lots of good photos, and we've seen some elk. To be honest, the power and awesomeness of the Canyon's depth scares me shitless, but I still manage to get close to the edge.

Still editing more photos, but more to come...!




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

EdgeEdge
Edge

Bear likes it.
MVMV
MV

Monument Valley
Bear Bear
Bear

He thinks I'm crazy. He's probably right.
DonkeysDonkeys
Donkeys

Why did the Donkeys cross the road? To get some McDonalds.
ElkElk
Elk

At El Tovar lodge, one of the most famous on the rim in the Grand Canyon.
USUS
US

Grand Canyon!
GCGC
GC

Us!


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb