Pretrip


Advertisement
Published: July 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Home

Ice CaveIce CaveIce Cave

This is me in an Ice Cave in New Mexico.
Dear friends and family,

Today, I am packing for my caving expedition to Chile. The purpose of this trip is to map caves, for a NASA project, in the Atacama region of Chile. We are going to the Atacama because it is very similar to Mars. The Atacama is the driest place on earth and has little to no vegitation. The project goal is locate caves on Mars, using thermal detection devices, so we are using the Atacama as an analogy site. If we can detect caves in the Atacama we should be able to find them on Mars.

In doing research for this expedition I used Google Earth to look at the terrain and get a feel for the place. I also found this web site (http://www.sanpedroatacama.com/ingles/) that has some nice background info on the San Pedro de Atacama area where we will be doing half of our work. My role in the expedition is Second in Command, Lead Cave Cartographer, Geographer, and Meteorologist. The expedition will last from July 14th to August 23rd- 41days! The last eight days will be spent on Easter Island.

The Easter Island leg of the trip is to do a biological inventory of the caves. To my knowledge, most of the caves on Easter Island have not been mapped. I may be the first to map caves there!

Packing is a challenge! I have to fit everything that I need to live, cook, camp, and cave for 41 days in two suitcases and they have to weigh under 50lbs each! I also will have a carry on suitcase, which has to weigh under 40lbs, and a backpack! This limit is difficult for me because I like to be prepared for anything! Also I have to pack for winter conditions at high elevation, so that means extra clothes!

When I am on the trip I will add additional entries and photos, so check back regularly!

Knutt

Advertisement



10th July 2008

Looking forward to your blog entries
Hi Knutt, Like everyone else, I'm looking forward to your blog additions during your 41-day camping/caving/exploring/surveying trip. Thanks for sending the blog link. Sharon

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb