ALL PACKED AND READY TO GO


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Albuquerque
December 2nd 2005
Published: December 3rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

London Luggage #1London Luggage #1London Luggage #1

Trying to limit myself to carry on only for all trips. Easy to pack for the 4-day London trip. It will be interesting to see if I can do the same for the month-long SE Asian journey!
The past two days have seen a flurry of last-minute-before-the-trip activitiy. I've actually been packed for a week (although I did make a few changes this morning) -- the three photos accompanying this entry illustrate how I'm trying to pack more lightly from now on.

Other than cramming all of my "necessities" in one carry-on-approved combination rolling dufflebag/backpack plus a messenger bag-style camera/electronic gear satchel, the most important pre-trip task was the traditional vacation haircut. My hair grows very quickly (and begins to curl terribly the longer it gets); I also hate going to the barber so a trip is usually the catalyst for me doing this dreaded chore. I did this deed yesterday (a warm, why-am-I-the-only-one-wearing-a-jacket, kind of day) and ended up getting my hair cut shorter than ever before -- I'd asked the barber to leave a quarter-inch of hair all around but my scalp has never been more bald! Oh, well. Perhaps it won't get too long for two or three months this time.

Another item of major importance on this trip was remember to call my wireless provider and get my international roaming activated. I purchased a Blackberry just a couple of months ago and
London Luggage #2London Luggage #2London Luggage #2

A look inside my electronics satchel: room for still and video cameras, several different lenses, spare batteries, battery chargers, Blackberry, etc.
this will be my first trip using it. I'm most concerned about being able to send and receive e-mails from overseas than anything else (my main blog, 'Burque Blog, accepts post entries via e-mail; I'll probably cross-post some of my travel entries over there). Also, I don't want to return home in January and find I have to wade through 2,000 e-mails to find the half-dozen or so "important" ones.

Late last night, I happened to glance at my drivers license and was horrified to discover that it was due to expire while I was out-of-the-country. Thus, the DMV was an unscheduled addition to my pre-trip errands today. It wasn't as bad as it sounds -- the closest DMV office is about 100 yards from my front door and there wasn't much of a wait. I did, however, receive my worse-ever license photo!

I spent much of today cleaning my apartment and taking out the trash. I HATE returning to a dirty home!

Tonight, I plan to relax and get some sleep for a change -- a true rarity the night before a trip. The first of my London-bound flights leaves Albuquerque shortly after one o'clock in the
London Luggage #3London Luggage #3London Luggage #3

The main bag -- a 20-inch High Sierra combination rolling duffel (with a drop bottom) and backpack. Conforms to the strictest airline regulations for carry-on bags (and is also expandable by unzipping a folded panel, but then I'd have to check the bag). Still plenty of room for (small) souvenirs!
afternoon; I change in Cincinnati (current weather: snowy and 23 degrees Fahrenheit) with an hour to spare -- cutting it too close, but that was the only option). I certainly hope I don't spend my 40th birthday (did I forget to mention that?) stranded in a cold airport waiting for another flight the next morning. According to their website, Cincinnati is one of the easiest airports in the U.S. for making tight connections. On paper it looks good: my flight from Albuquerque lands at Gate B-13 and the one to London departs from Gate B-8; a short distance on a map, but I've been deceived by such things before!

So, don't be completely surprised if my next blog entry comes to you from a snowbound airport in Northern Kentucky rather than the foggy confines of London Gatwick...

Advertisement



3rd December 2005

Happy travels!
Have a safe trip, and happy birthday, Mark! And always: Stay ahead of the wolves. Stian

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb