Around the World in 80 Plates


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey
September 14th 2013
Published: September 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Okay I know the title is a rip off of a Bravo T.V. show but hey mimicry is a form of flattery right? Now where as the show traveled from country to country I don't quite have that luxury so instead I'm sticking around here in New Jersey (or the east coast, or America, or the world who knows?) and finding all the whole in the wall restaurants to feed my belly. The show had it easy, I mean when your in a country all the food is authentic but try and find a true AUTHENTIC restaurant ain't a walk in the park. I mean in Bangkok the authentic Mexican restaurant I use to hit up included nachos with cheese sauce, so much for authentic.

With recommendations from others, the help of google and sheer determination I've been on a hunt for any and all types of food that can be found in the area and consumed by myself and any and all people who want to join me in my voyage. Some places I can really compare authenticity and others I can only determine good taste but here are the restaurants I've hit up and many MANY more to come, there are a lot of meals to be eaten (well 80 to be exact).

It seems only fitting that the first destination on my ethnic extravaganza would be for some much promised authentic Thai food. After a bit of searching and hearing the rave reviews from several folks my family and I landed on a journey across the world, or to the neighboring village of Sea Girt to hit up Siam Basil.

I scoured the menu before we even headed out there, and continued to do that once there. I demanded that we order both the Som Dtam (papaya salad) and Laap Gai (minced chicken salad) because these dishes were some of my all time FAVS back home in the village. I have to say, although they weren't true village dishes they were pretty darn tasty. Even better, pretty spicy! Although everyone enjoyed the Som Dtam I was the only one to really dive into the Lapp Gai which was causing tears in the eyes of the rest of my family.

Entrees followed and here is where mixed reviews arose. My mother went for the Chef's recommend eggplant and tofu basil. This dish was a stir fry of veggies with tofu and although tasty couldn't compare to the dish that my mom was hoping for, a dish my Thai mother prepared for us when she came to visit. Geng Panang was the choice of my brothers girlfriend and I must say for a curry it was quite tasty. I have never been a huge fan of curry, even in the land of curries, but this one I have to tip my hat too. It was quite tasty with a lovely kick of spice. My brother, not the one who had visited me in Thailand, ordered up the classic Pad Se Eww. Now I know it is weird, I LOVE Thai food BUT I'm not the biggest fan of curries and noodle dishes and I rarely eat rice. I know it is a bit mixed up but I'd actually take the fried crickets over curries and noodle dishes for the most part. With that said I again must tip my hat to the Pad Se Eww which was quite tasty and not nearly as oily as when my village use to make it. My father did the classic fried rice with seafood and here is where the ball was dropped. Now I mentioned that I don't really love curries or noodles and I rarely eat rice. Well I rarely eat rice but i do LOVE fried rice. I was so disappointed with the fried rice which came out mushy and even for me who eats all leftovers nearly inedible. And the lack of actual seafood within the dish was disappointing. Last but certainly not least was my very own dish, which disappointed me quite a bit. As I struggled between ordering up Pad Med (stir fried cashews) and Pad Khing (stir fried ginger) I went with the Pad Khing because ginger is a metabolism booster and I was a bit obsessed with metabolism boosters at this moment. I added shrimp into the dish and although it was good it really was nothing special. It wasn't spicy enough and I ended up dumping quite a bit of chili pepper onto it, making it slightly inedible to these rest of the table but bumped it up to village level spice for me.

A meal is never complete without dessert. After a some debating we decided upon two, Fried Ice Cream and Rainbow Ice Cream. Now I can't say I ever say Fried Ice Cream living up in in the village, but I'm sure it is served somewhere. It was simply ice cream set on fire with a raspberry sauce which was nice but nothing off the chain like we had hoped. The Rainbow Ice Cream however left me wanting to lick the plate. It is fair to say that I am an ice cream whore, i love love LOVE ice cream. I also love weird flavored ice cream and Thailand provides that. Luckily so does Siam Basil, with an ensemble of coconut, red bean and green tea ice cream. Can I tell you that I dig red bean ice cream, I would search for it in the village and get excited when I found it. Green tea (a metabolism booster) was also delicious and can you really go wrong with coconut? It is honestly fair to say my mom and I probably would have licked the plate if it was except able.

Overall I give Siam Basil 3 stars. Maybe 3.5 for that ice cream ensemble. Still on the hunt for a bit more authentic/delicious Thai food because I miss it terribly!

http://www.siambasil.com

Advertisement



Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0703s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb