Trailblazer 2010


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey » Secaucus
December 30th 2010
Published: December 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi and welcome to my blog. In June of this year, I took part in 64 of the best days of my life. I travelled from New York to Los Angeles and back, via British Columbia in Canada.

I have never done anything like this, and always thought it would be a distant dream of mine, but I decided to bite the bullet and go for it. And I am so glad that I did, not only did I get to see nearly all the best bits of America (and British Columbia!), I made some new friends, and had the time of my life!

On 4th June 2010, I stepped on my plane from London Heathrow (T5!) and headed on to Newark, New Jersey. The flight itself seemed to fly by (no pun intended!) and I quickly found myself on American soil.
As soon as I got my luggage, and after finally got through Customs, I caught a cab to the Gateway Hotel in Secaucus, and after checking in, made myself comfortable in the room. The next day would be the start of the Tour, so I wanted to make sure I was settled in and prepared for the off.

Some of us had been in contact on Facebook in the weeks leading up to the Tour, so I knew that they were staying at the same hotel, and in fact 3 of them got in the day before I did. Sarah, Graham and Zoe, had spend the day in Manhattan, so I was waiting for them to return before meeting up for the evening.
When they finally arrived, we all quickly discovered that 2 more of our group were in the room next to me, and had been there all day as well! We all headed into Jess and Becca's room and just began chatting about our stories and what had lead us to this same point, and soon after, we headed into the hotel courtyard and had dinner at Houlihan's, before returning to Jess and Becca's room for some talking, before we all decided to call it a night, and get some rest for the big day tomorrow.

I was really nervous whilst I waited in my room all afternoon, but as soon as I met the others, any nerves and fears about the whole trip, soon went away. I went to bed thinking that this was going to be something amazing.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0993s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb