A Bit of Everything! (Dave)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey » Princeton
October 30th 2009
Published: October 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Again it's been a while between drinks since I sat down and put in my two cents worth so here it is.
Lots and lots to talk about.
I've lost and found new employment (kind of) (I will expand on this later in the blog)
Met new and interesting people, finally escaped the five boroughs of New York City (other than for a sports game) and finally succumbed to the Winter that lies ahead. I am still wearing shorts though and being called crazy by workmates.
The two things that do stay the same are
1. I'm still a major sports fan and New York is keeping the smile on my face by thrusting the infamous Yankee Baseball organisation into the World Series.
The second is that I am still better Celebrity spotter than by better half, as yet again, while walking on a regular Wednesday morning through Central Park I spot Jeff Daniels walking his two dogs. I whisper to Penny "Celebrity" (I couldn't remember the codeword) to the cries of "WHERE? WHERE?. I point the man out and still she squints her eyes (he was 10m away on the other side of the road) Who is he again? Another one for the blog!

Through circumstances out of my control, I can no longer work at the Australian. I worked my last shift there a couple of weeks ago on Sunday night and treated my customers to very cheap drinks, musical requests of their choice via youtube and a night that never seemed to end. A headache to remember that Monday morning for sure.

I was never really concerned about losing a second source of income in one of the most expensive city's worldwide and just when things were starting to look like they would have to require more than just a passing thought, I received a phonecall.
Around the time of my last call at the Australian, I touched base with the manager at the Sunburnt Cow / Bondi Road bars (where I sporadically bounce on a Friday) telling him of my situation. He finally returned my phone call earlier this week, asking me if I would like to start training behind the bar for brunch tomorrow. Would I?

As a parting gift from my former boss at the Australian, he invited me to be his +1 at an official function at the Australian embassy last night. A low key affair celebrating the life and achievements of one the legends of Australian Rules Football, Ron Barassi. I managed to squeeze in 10 minutes with the man and spoke about his love of the great game. I even managed to educate him on Baseball from an Australian's point of view.

Last weekend saw my first trip outside of New York state since I have lived here (not counting Costa Rica).
Through recommendation from the friends we first stayed here with, Keri and Scott, we hopped on a train and headed down to Central New Jersey to Princeton University. (Scott is Princeton Alumni)
Set amongst endless orange coloured trees, Princeton was a welcome break from the hustle and bustle of NYC.
With few students to ruin the serenity, we strolled through the Ivy League grounds, marveling at the buildings, sipping on the best coffee's we've had since we got here and enjoying the day to ourselves.

In lieu of the harsh Winter that lies ahead, Penny and I have both invested in waterproof boots and jackets that would keep us warm if were dumped at the South Pole in the middle of a blizzard.
Pen loves showing off her new boots, while mine will probably sit the cupboard until January.

The Miller/King family has come and gone and they are all sorely missed.

Halloween tomorrow night, expect lots of photos and stories to tell in the next chapter!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Bondi Road Restaurant and BarBondi Road Restaurant and Bar
Bondi Road Restaurant and Bar

Dave's Semi-New Workplace
Princeton StationPrinceton Station
Princeton Station

Catch the 'Dinky' out to Princeton


Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 99; dbt: 0.1103s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb