Solo 8.5 Mile Hike


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey » Princeton
August 30th 2019
Published: August 31st 2019
Edit Blog Post

IMG_0037IMG_0037IMG_0037

Canal to the left, lake to the right.
A cloudless day in the high 80's with gentle breezes - - great hiking weather. I headed out from the "turning basin" (the circular pond that barges used to turn around) on the towpath along Carnegie Lake in Princeton. There's a nice, flat hike we used to do as kids, from Princeton up to Kingston (4.3 miles north), where you can find a good lunch at PJ's before turning around and retracing your steps. The towpath runs between Carnegie Lake and the Delaware/Raritan canal, so it tends to be a bit cooler on warm days. Today I had the path to myself, with just a few random academics in black street shoes and white socks. My regular hiking music includes lots of bluegrass, Grateful Dead and Rolling Stones. All good for keeping up the pace. Headphones in and hit the trail!


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

IMG_0035IMG_0035
IMG_0035

Gotta go uphill to be fed!


5th September 2019

Need to appreciate & want to ask something
Hey ! Pat Kidd ..I read your "Solo 8.5 Mile Hike" for me it was quite inspiring.I love such things infact i used to capture these things but into diary.here from you i wanna know as you blogging over your life experience.is really beneficial ? because i'm working on airline website : https://www.deltaairlinereservationnumber.com/ it is quite boring to do work on ..that's why i need to know about it..Hope you'll clear my doubts asap. Thanks ..
5th September 2019

Benefit of blog
Hi Hannah, I'm doing the blog as a way for my friends/family to track my walk on the Camino de Santiago Portuguese route. It's a nice way to capture the experience of the walk and share it with other people. I talk to so many people that think about walking the Camino and am hoping this will inspire folks who are thinking about it to take that first step and do it!

Tot: 0.296s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb