The travel


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey » Newark
January 7th 2010
Published: January 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Greetings!

I’m sitting in the Newark airport right now waiting to meet up with the rest of my group. Nothing super exciting has happened yet—I rolled out of bed around 5:30 and the parents took me to good ol’ PDX. On our way out, my mom convinced me that it was indeed a good idea to take the sweet blanket that my grandparents gave me for Christmas. (I was debating earlier about taking it and had decided not to because it’s large.) But in the end, we decided to throw it in, which resulted in my bag weighing in at 53.0 pounds, and therefore the loss of a sweater and an extra sweatshirt to wear on the plane. But all is well!

I also sat next to a really interesting woman on the flight. I would probably describe her as a fifty something year old hippie, and I think she might have referred to herself as “Goldie” at one point. She asked me where I was going and when I told her France, she got really excited for me and started telling me about one of her friend’s kids who are living abroad and love it, then went into how one of her daughters is in school and is awesome, and how the other one made it halfway through nursing school, then quit, then had a kid and is pregnant again and she just recently had to tell her she was going to have to support herself because she was 24 years old…she also later told me about how she once went to Jamaica or somewhere and went to a nude beach that she thought would be weird but she actually really liked it and only old people were there and told me that I was totally going to experience that in France. I kindly told her that I was not going to be close to any warm beaches. She said what a shame. At that moment, I did not necessarily agree with her.

Besides my few conversations with Goldie, I mostly just slept, and now I’m in Newark experiencing my 4.75 hour layover…I ate at a restaurant by myself for the first time ever…it made me think of that friends episode where Rachel eats by herself because it made her feel independent (anyone?)

Two favorite people watching moments:
1. (makes me think of Peggy) A middle aged woman who has a duffle bag (no wheels) but is just pulling it on the ground by the shoulder strap behind her
2. (makes me think of Lauren) Two guys sprinting across the terminal with no shoes on.


Advertisement



9th January 2010

ha ha I am honored to be mentioned in your blog! I am now an official subscriber. I'm so pumped to hear about all your awesome adventures which are guaranteed to be super chouette!
10th January 2010

Wow!
Sounds like a pretty crazy lady you sat next to on the plane! She DOES sound like an old hippie! Hope you keep warm with your big blanket!

Tot: 0.289s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb