Cape May, New Jersey


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey » Cape May
August 2nd 2009
Published: August 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I’ve been to over 40 countries, traveled to far off places, drank beer at Oktoberfest in Munich, Germany, hiked up a Glacier in Iceland, touched the Berlin Wall, gazed over the Grand Canyon, rafted a number 4 river in Costa Rica, visited the salt mines in Krakow, Poland but today I’d like to tell you about Cape May, New Jersey.
Cape May? NJ? Who? What? Yes Cape May! Being a lifelong resident of the Garden State I never even thought of a trip to the Cape. I heard of it. Knew about it but never even thought of a going there. That ever so long ride down the Garden State Parkway. The traffic and the tolls! Too much for this guy. Recently I did make my way south to Cape May and I was pleasantly surprised.
Upon entering the Cape I was delighted to see all the picturesque homes that adorned each avenue. This is New Jersey? Who would have thought? Ahh. The smell of the sea, the Sun beating down on my silver Toyota Tundra on an ever perfect day. People everywhere, heading to and from the beach, forcing me to stop at every intersection to let the pedestrians pass over the hot foot burning street. A board walk with ski ball and arcade games adjacent to the beach was singing out its own irrational tune. Where was I? The Jersey Shore.
Our bed and breakfast, the Luther Ogden, located on Kearney Avenue, was two blocks from the beach and very nice indeed. The innkeepers were hospitable; the room was clean and well kempt. The breakfast was exceptional and we were only two blocks from the beach.
So with free chairs from the B&B we were off. After a short walk there we were in the Sun, on the beach; all was peachy. Wait! I am fare skinned and in trouble. Then without warning the shade arrived. A cloud? No an umbrella. For just a few dollars you can rent an umbrella and they even set it in the sand for you. Not being a fan of the beach I must say it was a very pleasant beach day.
As the day grew on so did my hunger. I was alerted to the fact that there was a restaurant that sold the best hot dogs in town. The Lemon Tree. The Lemon Tree is located in the walking district of Cape May and had been a local staple for decades. Skeptical, I ordered one dog and split it. What a mistake. Those were and are the best I have ever had. You don’t have to travel to Austria or Germany for good quality hot dogs; they are right here in New Jersey. They were so good that I frequented the Lemon Tree four times in two days.
Then there was dinner. Peter Shields Restaurant to be exact. This bring your own restaurant, located on Beach Avenue was exceptional. The price tag is not for the faint hearted but take it from a chef, me, the food was amazing. The service and atmosphere were also to be noted. An old Victorian era house located on Beach Avenue is the perfect setting for friends, family or an intimate date for two. I did the latter and it was well worth it.
Cape May is a quaint little town bustling with activity. Shops, bars, restaurants and even horse and buggy rides with a history lesson to boot. A simple place lost in time yet so New Jersey. It however isn’t just for residents of the Garden State. It’s a place for everyone. With a winery, a sunken cement ship, horse and buggy rides, the beach, old Victorian houses, great food and an amazing atmosphere as well, it’s a place for everyone and has something for everyone. This guy will be back very soon.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb