Making it Happen...


Advertisement
Published: May 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

My Bro and IMy Bro and IMy Bro and I

Nedim and I before our trip.
Now that I've been out of college and working for two years I finally have the means to do some traveling. Unfortunately I don't have the free time I used to two years ago, it took some hard work, planning and creative thinking to find it. After stashing away my vacation hours like a pack rat, and working out deals with my awesome bosses I managed to piece together 36 days (16 days-accrued vacation, 12 days-weekends & holidays, 5 days-borrowed vacation, and 3 days-advanced work time) so that I could go on a decent vacation. Now for those of you reading this in Europe where you enjoy 5-6 weeks of vacation every year you might be laughing at loops I had to jump through to get my diminutive 36 days, understand that in the States we only get 10-15 vacation days per year, and most people never get to take vacations longer than 2 weeks unless they get laid off, or retire. Since I don’t plan on retiring for at least 2 more years ;-) I had to get creative. My partner in travel, Nedim, who happens to by my favorite brother (kidding, I love you bro), took an alternative approach, he quit his job. He’s the culprit who twisted my arm until I agreed to go on this vacation, took him all of 2 seconds to persuade me too… he’s that good :-). Nedim will be stuck in law school for the next few years starting in August, which is the main reason for the timing of this trip, we figured we’re not getting any younger, and if we wait any longer it will be even harder to go on a trip like this. The plan for the trip is to see as much of Europe as we can by visiting friends and family scattered throughout the continent. Coming up in my next post is the tentative trip itinerary.

Advertisement



15th May 2005

Have a good trip!!!!
Have a nice trip...stay safe and be careful. - Jonathan
16th May 2005

Best Wishes
Adnan, Have lots of fun!!! I will track your blog to get some ideas for my (future) trips. It was nice working with you. - Basil

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb