One month and counting...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Hampshire
November 4th 2014
Published: November 4th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Less than 4 weeks. That's how much time I have left before leaving everything, and every one, I know and moving - quite literally - to the other side of the world. To a country where I don't know the language. To a city where I don't know a single person. To a school where I will likely be the only American / English teacher. To a place where, for the first time, I will live in a place that is 100% my own.



I can't even begin to count how many times I have been asked: "Are you nervous?" or "Are you scared?"

To be 100% honest: yes. Of course I'm nervous. For the first time in my life, I am moving - by myself - to a place where I have no connections or friends to be there from Day 1. I'm leaving behind my family and friends. My niece and nephew are only 21 months and less than 2 months; a year in their lives is HUGE. I will miss a birthday each; milestones like rolling over and first words and steps; and random visits where I can just pick them up and snuggle and get hugs and kisses. I have three very good friends that will be getting married in the next year; I will miss each of their very special days. I will miss one of my sister's 21st birthdays. I will miss one year's worth of holidays... Christmas; New Years; Easter; Fourth of July; Thanksgiving; and a year's worth of birthdays. And a year of memories that I will miss, and never be able to get back.



Yes, I am nervous. But I'm more nervous about what I'm leaving behind than about what I'm going to. Yes, I am giving up a lot - I knew there would be a sacrifice - but I am also potentially gaining so much more. I will be living in a country where I will be forced out of my comfort zone... the language, the currency, the customs are all drastically different than life in a small town in New Hampshire. I will meet new friends. I will see places I've had on my bucket list for years... and places I've never even dreamed of seeing. I will get to work in a school with new students that I will surely bond with... and learn as much from them as they - hopefully - learn from me. I can't even begin to imagine what my life in Yangsan, South Korea is going to be like... but that's part of the adventure, of the appeal, of what I'm so excited about.



So, as of today, I have less than 4 weeks left. Less than 4 weeks to spend as much time as possible with my family and friends. To enjoy one last Thanksgiving before leaving. To snuggle with my niece and nephew every second I can. To say goodbye to a very good friend, taken from us far too soon. And to make as many happy memories as I possibly can before I step onto a plane that will take me to the other side of the world... away from everything and every one I know and love, to a year of unknown people, adventures, travels, and experiences.



Am I nervous? Yes. Maybe even a little terrified.

But I've never been more excited in my life.

Advertisement



6th November 2014

good luck!
I know you will be amazing and this will be one of the most rewarding experiences for you! I have no doubt and believe you are perfect for this! I look forward to reading your blog and seeing all the pictures!!!

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0813s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb