sabbatical 2019 - mountain climbing


Advertisement
Published: July 6th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Becky and I and her brother Ted from Ohio (who has unexpectedly come for a lovely visit!) climbed Black Mountain in the Sandwich wilderness, about 2700'. Great views, which are the wonderful result of 2 hours hard work. Mountain climbing is one of our yearly "have to do's" at camp. A hot day for here, 90 degrees, but nice breeze at the top.

We have also heard from friends that several Democratic Presidential candidates are in NH having rallies. Having never participated in such an event, a Celtic prayer I read yesterday seems to encourage that possibility.

"Lord of the excluded,

open my ears to those I would prefer not to hear;

open my life to those I would prefer not to know;

open my heart to those I would prefer not to love;

and so open my eyes to see

where I exclude You."

Not that I am not interested in these candidates. I simply believe we have a civic responsibility to listen to the voices running, regardless of what our first impressions might be, This prayer may move me to do that.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb