Final Entry


Advertisement
Published: May 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So, in looking back on the big move, the highlights were definitely the company of my lovely, interesting, kind brother and his adorable cat. We both missed the cat once we'd dropped her off, as we'd gotten quite used to her as a travel companion.

The lows were the exhaustion. At the end of the days we weren't worth much, and small things got big, and big things felt insurmountable.

The truck was a champ, and never failed us. The tow dolly was to be recommended. As a driver, I lack all concepts of the suitability of a road to the size of my vehicle, so thank heavens Bill was there to do all the tricky parts. We started out with him doing the lion's share of the driving, but gradually slid to more 50-50. I don't think I'll take up driving trucks as a career, but it was an interesting ride from the truck driver perspective.

My father laughed at the food receipts when we got back, and told us we probably didn't want to only eat McDonalds for 5 days. (Didn't he see all the Starbucks receipts?) Between Bill and I we crossed the country on $15/day for food and drink for two people! I was sure we'd spent more than that a day just on coffee... ha!

Oh, its good to be back, just the same.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb