Day 5 - Rehoboth Beach, DE to Nashua


Advertisement
Published: May 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I told Bill when we went to bed last night not to even set an alarm. I thought if we got on the road by 11, we would miss the traffic in NYC and get to Nashua just fine.

Tom woke me up before he went to work so I could get a tour of the garden. Oh so fabulous. What a lovely slice of garden it is and the plants all have a story.

Bill woke up early as well, and he sneaked out and started unloading the car from the dolly while I was getting a shower. It was still raining. Did I mention the rain? When I saw he was unloading stuff, I jumped in my sneakers and started helping. We had to unload his stuff from the back of the truck. He made the decision to put it all in the garage, which saved us from moving it all upstairs in Jo's house. The ramp was wicked slippery in the rain, so unloading heavy stuff was exceedingly dangerous. Bill's sneakers had less tread than mine, so I tried to do the up-and-down the ramp as needed.

The most memorable part of the morning was the lightening storm. The thunder was rumbling most of the time we were unloading, but when it came right on top of us, I decided I'd had enough for a few minutes. When we finished up, it had started in to pour. Loading the tow dolly back on the truck drenched us, in fact I needed to towel my hair dry on coming indoors again.

We headed to Dover to drop off the dolly. Yay!! Now we were just a truck again. The Penske drop off place was well hidden. So after driving back and forth on the side road a couple times, we finally found it. We then got a sandwich, gassed up, and headed north. Bill drove us to NJ, but he was soooo tired. I told him I'd drive as soon as we got to the rest stop around Trenton. Man, did we hit a back up! We did change over at the rest stop, and sat in traffic for an hour before seeing that our backup was just rubberneckers! There was a 7 truck/2car crash on the southbound side of the turnpike that everyone had to look at. Oh, and one of the trucks was a 26-ft Penske rental truck, just like ours!! Triple yikes.

I have driven from NJ to NH more times in the last 10 years than I can count, so doing it in a truck was a piece of cake. A very long piece of cake!! We had to take 95 through CT, which was the biggest drawback. The commuter traffic was bad in Connecticut, but eventually cleared out. Massachusetts was blissfully unremarkable. And we managed to drag ourselves into Nashua by 11pm. The journey was nearly over. To be back in Kurt's arms was heaven.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb