Calico Hills - my first Tuesday living in Vegas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Red Rock Canyon
January 27th 2009
Published: February 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Rough route around Calico Hills

Or something like that... ;-)

Nice views to north Red RockNice views to north Red RockNice views to north Red Rock

From Calico Hills look north-west to White Rock.
Tuesday 27th January 2009
I had been coming to Las Vegas almost every month (for a week or two at a time) since my partner Lisa moved out here in April 2008. And so I had been to Red Rock Canyon before (it is only 20 mins from our house). But Now I had moved here properly and this was now my 'back yard' to play in - and what a back yard!!! If anyone visits Vegas - sure see the Strip and see the Grand Canyon, but if you have any spare time - come see Red Rock!

There are loads of hikes all over Red Rock (RR) and I intend to do them all! I had done a few before and so started to fill in the gaps. Calico Hills is one of the very first stops on the loop road around RR - so I started there. It was a bit of an exploratory hike - I had seen a few peaks I wanted to conquer but had no idea how. As I headed further in to the hills it became apparent I could spend many hours trying with no success. Because of the way the rocks
Climbers at Calico HillsClimbers at Calico HillsClimbers at Calico Hills

Can you see the climber at the bottom of the dark rock area?
are formed there is a maze of mini valleys cutting through the hills. So as you climb up a big outcrop of rock, climbing higher and appearing to make progress, you come across a deep cutting that is impossible to cross and very difficult to climb down. So you have to head back the way you came and try again.

See a quick video here:


So I never got to any peaks that day - next time...



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Curls...Curls...
Curls...

The hair is starting to get a bit long...
Natural shelterNatural shelter
Natural shelter

If you don't mind sharing with black window spiders, scorpions and rattle snakes...
Contrasting texturesContrasting textures
Contrasting textures

All made from ancient sand dunes...
Rock formationsRock formations
Rock formations

More interesting rock formations - which I knew more about this stuff!
Mini valleysMini valleys
Mini valleys

These large gaps between the rock is what caused so much frustration as I tried to find my way through this maze to get to the top.
ScaleScale
Scale

To get a sense of how big these rock hills are - that are with the climber is the dark patch top right.
My way downMy way down
My way down

I came down this face, the small green dots are bushes up to my waist and above, to get a scale on this.
ColoursColours
Colours

I love the colours at Red Rock
Long shotLong shot
Long shot

of the area I was hiking in - I nearly got to the top of the dark orange stuff.


10th February 2009

Great Photos!
Brilliant photos J - crap spelling! Keep safe in those mountains. Mum xx

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0235s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb