Preliminary Information


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nebraska
August 10th 2006
Published: August 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Who:
My name is Liz. I grew up in a town of 2,522 in rural Nebraska. I am entering my senior year at Beloit College located in Wisconsin, USA. I'll graduate in May 2007 with a degree in Environmental Studies.


What:
I'm studying with the American university SIT: School of International Training. My program is entitled Australia: Sustainability and the Environment. Prior and subsequent to the program, I'll be backpacking with a friend.

When:
I'll be traveling and studying during the fall 2006 semester.

Where:
The program is an 'experiential learning' program, meaning we attempt to experience that which we're learning in locations that will offer us insight. The program has us studying on the eastern coast and in New South Wales.

Why:
I'm interested in finding answers to questions about what most effectively motivates people to act in environmentally sustainable ways. Governmental incentives? Peer pressure? Hope for a healthy planet? Easy access? Persuasive education? In the future I hope to work with organizations that participate in helping the masses interact with the environment peacefully. I applied for the SIT program with the hopes of helping myself understand some of these concepts in a foreign place. I hope that my trip to Australia helps me understand the role that I can play in the national and international push toward a green, sustainable planet.

How:
To Australia by plane. Unsustainable, I know.

Advertisement



14th August 2006

Bon Voyage
Hi, Liz, we are eagerly looking forward to hearing about your trip...will live vicariously through your travels.
14th August 2006

Best of Luck
Liz I am adding myself to your subscriber list. I'm sure you'll love Australia and your semester abroad. Have a Fosters for me. Bill

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb