getting ready


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nebraska
February 2nd 2006
Published: February 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

so i am still between the apartment and mark's farm and i am trying to wrap my head around what will be happening in two days. i have never travelled so far and i have never left the country. as expected i am terribly unprepared, but as my good friend molly just said "don't worry it is gonna be great, you have been waiting your whole life to do this shit" so i guess she is right. well... i know she is right. i am leaving i "needfwith less money than i expected or less ability to get stuff that i "need", so i guess i will find out the meaning of that word soon. i am finding it more difficult to part ways with some friends as i have no real plans if/when i leave india. i guess they will all have to visit me in Osaka...wink.
on the other hand, i am very excited to see and live completly emersed in the tibetan community. i have been waiting and wondering about this feeling i have for Tibet and its culture for a very long time. next to love.... it will be the greatest adventure of my life. i am truly grateful to all that have made this possible and have supported me.
i will try to write from chicago.
love you all!!! here we go......

Advertisement



2nd February 2006

i'm proud...
i love you, big brother, and i am extremely excited for you. you'll be amazed... joel
6th February 2006

indiabound
what an adventure. i wish i could go too. i will be tracking you the best i can. i'm really proud of the commitment you have for your beliefs, you are an amazing man, colin, and we all love you. if you need some extra dough, pleeeeze let me know how to get it to you...dad
7th February 2006

I found you...
Hey, Colin! How are you? I was thinking of you every minute yesterday...praying and hoping. I can't say that I cried less than an hour at the thought of my "little" brother off to India. *sigh* I love you much (as Dassah would say)...waiting for word on how you are. ~Gan
7th February 2006

Dharamsala?
Hey~trying to find you on a map! Are you in McLeodganj, Dharamsala? Hope you are well! ~Gan
7th February 2006

trying to figure this out
Hey...i just figured out that you are about 12 hours ahead of my time zone... :-) Gan
15th February 2006

I didn't know you were leaving...
I walked into the coffee house last night and asked if you were around, and the two people behind the counter that I had never seen before informed me that you had left the country! What a shocker...I am so excited for you. Please write back and let me know how things are going. My email is...(annadietrich@gmail.com) Later Anna
18th February 2006

I'm not your dad
I finally have time to do this without hurry-time. I have been in similar shoes and understand the excitement and anxiety of travel overseas (even India) for the first time. I also understnad the fear that funds may be inadequate. But I found that my fears were unjustified (as usual). God will take care of you because of his great love for you. And I know that this love is true because of the gift of his only begotten Son Jesus Christ. Having wrestled with this childhood teaching to understand before believing, I found that in believing I finally understood. We have many of the same values in life, you and I, and I love you very much. You are in my prayers as you travel. I know that God is leading you to teach you of this great love. Learn what God wants you to learn...not necessarily what Colin wants to learn...Be open to God's working in this trip. I am glad to share this journey with you via this new medium on internet...I wish I had this when I went to India. You have gained a permanent place deep in my heart. Murry

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb